Skip to content

The View From Monday – New Books Available in June!

June 10, 2013

Another month has flown by and we’re back with just a few of the new books that will be available in your favorite bookstore or library in June!

Picture Books

The Beginner’s Guide to Running Away from Home by Jennifer Huget, illustrated by Red Nose Studio

Beginners Guide the Running Away from Home

Hasn’t every child been angry enough that they at least threaten to run away from home? In this clever story our hero actually gives it a try, of course he commits the rookie mistake of trying to take too much of “home” with him and well, finds out that in spite of the reasons he left in the first place there really is “no place like home”. This book has the humor of our favorites 17 Things I’m Not Allowed to Do Anymore  and 11 Experiments that Failed and is truly brought to life for kids and grownups by the fascinating art from Red Nose Studio.

Little Owl’s Orange Scarf by Tatyana Feeney

Little Owls Orange Scarf

Little Owl loves lots of things in his little world, but there’s one thing he doesn’t like–his orange scarf. It’s too long, too itchy and it’s orange. So he does his best to “lose” the scarf, and when he comes home without it his patient and understanding mother knows just what to do. They go to the yarn store, Little Owl picks out the perfect blue and not itchy yarn and mom knits a new scarf in just right size. And with a particularly satisfying ending too! A perfect book from the author/illustrator of Small Bunny’s Blue Blanket that parents and kids (and knitters of all ages) will want to read over and over again.

Paintbrush of the Gods by Lenore Look, illustrated by Meilo So

Paintbrush of the Gods

An inspiring picture book biography of China’s greatest painter Wu Daozi, here presented to readers as a young boy who is supposed to be learning calligraphy, but just can’t seem to keep his brush on the paper. His creativity is boundless and rather than let this get in his way, he learns to follow his brush. A wonderful introduction to an artist and the power of art for any age.

Swimmy 50th Anniversary Edition by Leo Lionni

Swimmy 50th Anniv.

One of my favorite books by Leo Lionni is 50 years old, and still teaching us the power of friendship and teamwork! Celebrate Swimmy and his creator by sharing this wonderful book with everyone you know.

Middle Grade and YA 

Every Day After by Laura Golden

Every Day After

Historical fiction at it’s best, gives interesting perspective on the Great Depression, from the point of view of Lizzie Hawkins whose father has disappeared, her mother is sad beyond belief, money is tight and all Lizzie really wants is for her father to come back home in time for her birthday. A compelling story of hope and determination, you’ll love Lizzie Hawkins!

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

Escape from Mr Lemoncell's Library

You don’t want to miss this fascinating mystery that we described as “The Westing Game meets Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler”, with the bonus that this story takes place in a LIBRARY! Chris Grabenstein has outdone himself and given us a perfect Summer FUN book, perfect for kids and for parents too. It might inspire you to go on your own mystery-solving scavenger hunt at your local library.

Far Far Away by Tom McNeal

Far Far Away

Jeremy Johnson Johnson can hear things, specifically he hears the voice of Jacob Grimm. Jacob is one half of the Brothers Grimm, and his job is to watch over Jeremy whose family life has been a bit of a train wreck and there seems to be “an unknown evil” that could indeed bring more difficulty. Then there’s Ginger, who is a little too interested in Jeremy…….Fairytales, intrigue, evil and maybe romance make this is thrilling read. For more about Far Far Away check out the reviews in this recent post.

Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance

Spies and Prejudice

Classic themes meet Veronica Mars makes for one clever spy story. It’s got all  the smarts of Pride and Prejudice with a contemporary twist–Berry Fields is a private investigator who is just too busy for a boyfriend….and yet the same handsome and a bit arrogant Tanner Halston keeps popping up. You may think you know where this is going, but you’ll have to jump in with both feet to find out, and it will definitely be worth the trip.

The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton

Lost Sun

Book One in the “United States of Asgard”. A great next book for fans of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and Holly Black’s The Curse Workers. How can you resist a story that takes place in a “Norse Mythology-infused alternate world”? A special training academy, powers that these characters are just beginning to learn to use, romance and battles, make for a great beginning to this new series. From the author of Blood Magic and The Blood Keeper, same great writing in a whole new world.

Paradox by A. J. Paquette

Paradox

The perfect book for fans of James Dashner, a post-apocalyptic story with a strong female lead.  Ana finds herself on an alien planet with only vague memories, at best, of who she is and why she is there. She eventually meets three other teens and learns that together they must survive the alien planet and save the Earth.

Thanks for joining us today on RAoR, we hope we’ve given you a lot of new titles to add to your list for that next trip to the bookstore or library!

Please share your thoughts in our comments section.

Advertisements
One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 1:14 pm

    Oh my gosh, I see several on that list that I need!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: