Skip to content

We Ask a Book Blogger: What Upcoming Books Are You Excited About?

June 7, 2013

Each month, we present a panel of book bloggers with a question relating to children’s books and we share their views here on the blog.  If you missed last month’s post on our bloggers’ favorite books to give to new mothers, you can read it here .

This month, I thought it would be fun to ask our blogger panel what not-yet-published titles they can’t wait to read and buzz about. You’ll want to make a note of these terrific picture books, middle grade and young adult novels so you pick them up when they’re released. The good news is, many are out in the next month or two!

9780385743266

I love the anticipation related to new books in the days and weeks before they are released.  Though I have read several Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) of books that I am looking forward to discussing with others, there are two books that I have not yet read but both have come highly recommended.

The first book that I am excited to read is Every Day After by Laura Golden (Delacorte Press, June 11, 2013) – I don’t have much longer to wait for this one.  When I saw the blurb mention that Jennifer L. Holm’s fans will love the character of Lizzie in this book, I immediately added it to my list.  Very excited to pick up and read this book by debut author, Laura Golden.

Next up is Ghost Hawk by Susan Cooper (Simon & Schuster, August 27, 2013) – I am hoping to pick up an ARC at ALA Annual because I am not certain that I can wait till the end of August.  This title came to my attention when a friend and I were talking about potential Mock Newbery Books.

– Alyson, Kid Lit Frenzy @alybee930

9780375870422

There are so many great books out this year! I’ll try to limit myself to three upcoming books that I’ve not read yet!

1. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. Why? It’s HOLLY BLACK!! That woman is amazing. I am such a fan of her writing. Every book I read is better than the last… and they’re all fabulous.

2. Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan. Why? If you’ve read Unspoken you know why. If you haven’t, get thee to a bookstore/library/whatever! Smart and sarcastic and oh so much fun.

3. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. Why? Oy. This woman. She delights in torturing her readers! I was late to the The Raven Boys game but I am so in! LOVED Gansey and the rest of the crew. And THAT LAST LINE! Killer.

Wait, I’m at three already?!? There are a ton more! What a great problem to have.

– Heidi, YA Bibliophile @hmz1505

9780385743563

For picture books, I’m already telling customers about The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers (on sale June 27). Literally, I giggle every time I think about it.

I just finished reading Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson that doesn’t come out until September 24, but I can’t wait to talk about that, either. A supervillain book with a group of risk-everything underground resistance fighters? How can I hold my excitement in?!? Some of my grown-up friends have to read it (and most of the kids at the store). It’s preorder time!

– Tegan, T Squared Blog @ttigani

9780763660406

I think if Kate DiCamillio read the phone book to me, I would be swept up in the mystery and magic of why the Rs are so far away from the Cs and the strings of numbers would sound like a song. So I am on the edge of my seat for Flora and Ulysses. The buzz is about its genre-bending-ness, and I adore integrated art and am a huge fan of K.G. Campbell too, and so I can’t wait to get sucked into that story. (I even just made a lame pun on quasi-accident, since there’s a vacuum cleaner at the heart of it!)

Another something I wish time would tick faster for? Rosie Revere, Engineer, by Andrea Beaty and David Roberts. Iggy Peck, Architect was an instant classic for me, and this new collaboration looks like contraption-worthy fun.

– Carter, Design of the Picture Book @carterhiggins

9781616202200

There are two middle grade novels I’ve been looking forward to immensely. I’m dying to read The Time Fetch by Amy Herrick. Any story where the boundaries between worlds and dimensions become blurry is bound to be exciting. I also can’t wait to read Seven Stories Up by Laurel Snyder, a companion to Bigger Than a Breadbox. Come to think of it, that’s about taking a leap back in time. Hmm…

– Joanne, My Brain on Books @JoanneRFritz

9780803738553

I was very happy and excited to see that a number of my favorite young adult authors have new books.  Deciding what to read first is always the hardest decision.

The fresh from BEA to be read list is fairly long but these are the top four books on it:  Maggie Stiefvater’s Dream Thieves (the sequel to Raven Boys), Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Cold Town, Elizabeth Wein’s Rose Under Fire and Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting by 7s.  I will read ANYthing by ANY of these people anywhere, any time.

– Rene, Notes from the Bedside Table

What upcoming releases are you excited about? We’d love to hear!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2013 8:11 am

    Sorry I didn’t get mine in on time – I was waiting for my BEA books to come. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is definitely on my list though – I heard a lot about it last week!

  2. August 2, 2013 8:52 am

    With POS integration, when a customer places an order online, the order is sent directly to the POS
    system and automatically put into the system. The different culinary preparations are usually characterized by
    lots of vegetables, pulses and spices. Often times this is the most cost effective and direct way
    for the shops to advertise to you, so they are usually loaded
    with pizza specials.

  3. August 2, 2013 8:28 pm

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and in
    depth information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old
    rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  4. September 26, 2014 1:54 pm

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject
    matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over
    that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside
    case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

