Skip to content

Fit for Foodies

May 22, 2013

Nic is here today to share some of her favorite recently-published books about food and health. We hope you enjoy this rare peek at some of the adult reads we enjoy when we’re not busy reading children’s books.

9781594204210

Cooked by Michael Pollan – I was lucky enough to see Michael Pollan speak when he was touring for his earlier book, In Defense of Food, and I have been reading everything he writes and recommends every since. In Cooked he discussed the four classical elements – fire, earth, water and air – in relation to food and cooking. With four distinct sections on baking bread, grilling, fermenting and cooking in/with water you get a full grasp of the roots of cooking, and a glimpse into the possible future. Part III, Air, was of the most interest to me; I’ve recently begun attempts at baking bread from scratch, and I cannot claim anything even close to success, but as Mr. Pollan states “One reason to bake bread is to fill your kitchen with that aroma. Even if the bread turns out badly, the smell of it baking never fails to improve a house or a mood.” I haven’t yet attempted the recipe for Whole Wheat Country Loaf included in the appendix, but it is on my ever growing list of recipes to try.

9780307954565

Meatless by Martha Stewart Living – It took at least five recommendations from different people before I was convinced to pick up this cookbook from Martha Stewart. I know Martha has many devotees, but I am not one of them. I have, however, been a bit swayed by this particular book. One of my “must haves” in a good cookbook are photos, beautiful, simple, stunning photos. Meatless does not disappoint. One of the first recipes I made, Brown Rice, Edamame, and Cilantro Salad, was made just because the photo looked so fresh and simple (plus I had some cilantro begging to be used). Fresh and simple it was, just like the photo, and it will be added to the steady rotation of grain salads we eat over the summer months.

9780345541345

The Heavy by Dara-Lynn Weiss– If I could have my dream job it would be teaching children (teens in particular) how to eat and cook seasonal healthy foods. Because of this I was immediately drawn to the memoir The Heavy, which chronicles a mothers attempt to “cure” her seven year olds obesity. As a woman and mother struggling with her own food and body issues this was no easy task, and the media frenzy that was caused after a Vogue article went viral made very decision that much harder. This is a great read for anyone attempting to change food habits, examine personal body issues, or begin to understand the feelings a loved one has towards dieting/food in general.

9781400069804

Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Ross – Almost two years ago I began attempting to eat as sugar free as possible, which is no easy task. I began by avoiding sweets, skipping dessert and talking about being sugar free to anyone that would listen. But then I realized just how much sugar is added to the everyday foods that you don’t think about – crackers, protein bars, juice and many others – have so much added sugar you don’t even realize is there. (The average American eats about 22 teaspoons a day!!!) After that shocking realization I began to question quite a few of the other things I’d eaten for years…..and Salt Sugar Fat has made me even more sensitive to the foods I purchase, prepare and share with others. If you are concerned about your health, your children’s health, or just want to learn more about the tricks the processed food companies are playing on your taste buds, Salt Sugar Fat is the book for you.

What cookbooks or health books have you loved recently? We’d love to hear your recommendations!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 8:30 am

    Thanks, Nic! I plan to check out all of these books!

  2. May 22, 2013 10:22 am

    A great list of food books! I still haven’t read anything by Michael Pollan and now I’m sure I must read soon.

  3. dandy permalink
    May 22, 2013 10:57 am

    i just got Meatless & love it. But my new fav is Sprouted Kitchen (anothter one recommended by Nic).

  4. Denise DuFort permalink
    May 22, 2013 7:13 pm

    The Ross book sounds like something I need to read!

Leave a Reply

