Skip to content

Taking the Screen-Free Challenge

April 19, 2013

Unplug & Read 4C Logo for Accounts ©2013DanYaccarino

Screen-Free Week kicks off April 29 and ending May 5. We’ve shared the fantastic author video some of our Random House friends created to answer the question of why they like to unplug, and many bookstores and libraries we work with will be taking the pledge and running activities for kids looking for screen-free fun, but I thought it might be time to go a step farther. That’s right, I committed my home to go screen-free for the entire week.

My kids are young, just three and six, so their exposure to screens is limited at this point. They watch cartoons while I cook dinner, and Saturday mornings they catch up on Disney movies while I groggily sip my coffee, but they don’t have access to computers, video games or phones and we only let them use our iPads when we’re traveling. So honestly, this challenge is more about me and my screen obsession. I want to be a good role model for my kids and my constant checking of Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and blogs is not sending the right message. I’ve recently begun setting my phone upstairs when the kids get home so that it’s not accessible the rest of the evening, but I’d like to take it a step farther. For next week, I’m cutting off my own screen access: no social media, email, blog reading, internet surfing or television (unless it’s work-related and during work hours). I’m panicking a little already!

To get us all through the week, we’re taking a trip to the library to stock up on reading material. My husband just started reading Ramona and Beezus to my daughter and she’s already hooked, so we’ll pick up a few more of Cleary’s classic novels. For my son, we’ll get as many car and truck-themed reads as we can find. I have a rather large stack of to-read books on my nightstand, including The Interestings, American Rust and The Aviator’s Wife, so I’m set on that front. I’m also creating a list of art projects to tackle with the kids and places we can visit on weekend field trips. In the evenings, I’m envisioning neighborhood walks, time spent playing cards, reading and maybe even working on the annual family photo albums we’re four years behind on completing.

Will you be going screen-free? Or will you at least be seeking out fun events at your local library or bookstore? I’d love to hear your comments (or even just your good thoughts on me getting through the week)!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 8:14 am

    This is perfect timing for me. My school district has our spring break next week and I intend to read for most of it.

  2. April 19, 2013 8:31 pm

    I think this is a fantastic idea! Plus, I like how you’re already planning things for you and your family to do. I think I’m going to join in. 🙂

  3. April 29, 2013 3:58 pm

    I’m on board! Turning it off right after this comment…

Leave a Reply

