Skip to content

Reading Resolutions 2013

January 2, 2013

Last year we had so much fun coming up with our reading resolutions that we decided to do it again. Here are our 2013 resolutions: the books we want to read, the new genres we’re exploring, and confessions about what we planned to read in 2012 and never got to. Enjoy!

9780307352149

I don’t need to look back at last year’s post to be reminded that I didn’t read most of the books on my 2012 resolutions list, they’re in a stack in my bedroom, mocking me every time they catch my eye (note to self: move that pile of mocking books). I won’t say I’ll never read them, I’m far too determined to give up yet. My overall goal for 2012 is to READ MORE, whether I’m reading books for work or books for fun. That said, I’m challenging myself to step outside my comfort zone and try some non-fiction. I’m not typically a non-fiction reader, but this year I’d really like to read Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking (I know, how can someone in sales be an introvert?!?!), and I need to find a book about “bees”. Yes, I’m thinking about beekeeping, so if any of you can recommend a good beginner’s guide all suggestions are welcome. And in the midst of all this I’ll remain open to great kid’s book suggestions from my brilliant booksellers. – Kate

9780394820378

A new year, a new resolution. But first a confession – I didn’t read any of the books I said I was going to read last year! (The Phantom Tollbooth, Bud, Not Buddy and The Book Thief) And, I don’t think I will be reading them any time soon. Horrible, I know, but so many new books are screaming to be read! This year I am taking the easy way out. No specific books to be read, just more pleasure reading to be done. More books about food, strong female memoirs and crime fiction. And more recommendations from friends and co-workers that get read, not just placed on the shelf! – Nic

9780307594037

My resolution is to read more for me. That means more grown up books, even though the stack of galleys & manuscripts keeps getting bigger. I’m finally starting to accept the fact that I can’t read our entire list & be OK with that. I just finished The End of Your Life Book Club (thank you Erin & others for suggesting it) and felt so rejuvenated & ready to tackle my fall 13 reading! – Dandy

9780061257094

My resolution this year is to start a book club. I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve never been in one, let alone started one! I did a Ladies Night Out event last week with my local independent bookstore, Lorelei Books, and I was invited by some women who belong to a book club in a neighboring town to be a guest at their January meeting. They are reading The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani and will be discussing the book over wine and Italian food at one of my favorite restaurants, so I gladly accepted their offer. I’m excited to experience my first book club get together, and I hope to get some pointers before I attempt to start a group here in Vicksburg this spring. Any recommendations for a great first book club book? I was thinking The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe–I’m reading it now and it seems like the perfect choice! – Sarah N.

I don’t want to sound like a luddite or an end-of-the-printed-word doomsayer, but my commitment this year is to read more books. Actual, printed-on-paper, single purpose, non-distracting books. I went on a cruise with my family this summer and pretty much gave over all of my electronics to my kids. There was no internet service (or, I should say, I declined to pay the exorbitant cruise prices for it) so the only thing I could have used them for was reading. And the only thing I read on my tablets are manuscripts for work. I had promised myself not to read for work on the cruise, so I brought a stack of books, some of which had been patiently waiting for my attention for a few years. It was glorious to read without messages about emails, Facebook and calendar appointments constantly popping up and distracting my already very distractible brain. The kid interruptions could not be helped – though the electronics they had helped stave them off! – Deanna

9780452295292

My reading resolution this year is to step outside my comfort zone and read more books that trusted book-loving friends recommend to me. After no fewer than three people told me that City of Thieves was one of their favorite books ever, I finally picked it up, only to realize that it was amazing! I’m reading David Benioff’s earlier book, The 25th Hour next, but it also alerted me to the fact that sometimes it pays to try a book that doesn’t seem like something you might typically enjoy. One of the same readers to recommend City of Thieves loved The Dog Stars, so I’m setting aside my fear of dystopian novels to give it a shot. Here’s to 2013 being the year I push myself to read more unexpected books! – Erin

What are your 2013 reading resolutions? We’d love to hear! Happy New Year, friends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2013 10:27 am

    I didn’t make any resolutions but I sure enjoyed reading yours.

Leave a Reply

