Skip to content

The Wait is Over! New Books Available in Paperback in August

August 20, 2012

Just in time to get in a little fun reading before vacation time is really over and school is back in session, we’ve got a new crop of books available in paperback!

Picture Books

Velma Gratch and the Way Cool Butterfly by Alan Madison, illustrated by Kevin Hawkes

Velma Gratch is having a tough time, she has two perfect older sisters and she’s well, not feeling anything close to perfect as she enters first grade. Velma feels downright invisible. Then a trip to the Butterfly Conservatory changes everything, the butterflies do see her and one of them becomes very attached to Velma. As we see the monarch butterfly go through it’s magical transformation we also see Velma go through a magical transformation of her own.

The Red Lemon by Bob Staake

Farmer McPhee grows lemons, beautiful, tangy, yellow lemons. Until….one day he discovers a RED lemon, what’s a farmer of yellow lemons to do with a red lemon? Farmer McPhee throws the red lemon as far away as he can. it lands on a distant island. Two hundred years later readers discover that the red lemon became many red lemon trees, sweeter than the yellow lemons and a whole civilization has grown up around them. A lovely story about how sometimes something different might just be an improvement paired with Staake’s whimsical graphic art style makes this a perfect book for any age.

Middle Grade and Young Adult

The Girl Behind the Glass by Jane Kelley

Twins Hannah and Anna agree on everything. Then they move into a new house and suddenly they are disagreeing about everything, could there be a force at work in their new home driving them apart? Anna is happy in the new house but Hannah is unsettled and hearing voices that no one else can hear. Is there a ghost lurking and what does it want from Hannah? A perfect spooky read. –Kate

The Dragon’s Tooth: Ashtown Burials Book 1  by N.D. Wilson

If you are a fan of the 100 Cupboard series you are in for a treat!  This new series from N.D. Wilson has more adventure, more magic, more butt-kicking action than ever before.  The Smith family lives a quiet (boring!) life in Wisconsin until a stranger covered in tattoos arrives at the family run hotel.  Everything they thought they knew changes within hours, and life becomes decidedly un-boring.  Immortal beings, secret societies, whip spiders and non-stop action make this almost 500 page book a quick read.  Great for fans of Harry Potter, Alex Rider and Septimus Heap. –Nic

Here Lies Linc by Delia Ray

Every kid goes through the “can my Mom possibly be any more embarrassing” stage!  Linc, our main character, has a very eccentric Mom to endure, a cranky cemetery “warden” breathing down his neck and a school project to get done when he isn’t out walking the neighbor’s dog.  This book has just enough spooky cemetery lore to keep you up reading past your bedtime, plus a lesson in family lineage that will make you want to do some research of your own. –Nic

The LuckyKind by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Nick is an ordinary high school student, his biggest concern is that he needs a girlfriend. Then one night his world and his family are turned upside down. On the plus side Nick seems to have found a new sense of confidence. Family secrets and a love story from the author of The Beautiful Between and The Stone Girl have never been more intriguing. Check out our recent post from author Alyssa Sheinmel here.-Kate

Thanks for joining us at RAoR today, we hope we’ve given you some great suggestions for new books to read and share!

Please share your thoughts in our comments section.

Advertisements
3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2012 8:11 am

    I love the cover of Velma Gratch and the Way Cool Butterfly!!

  2. Margaret Volak permalink
    August 20, 2012 8:26 am

    I cannot unsubscribe…please do so! THanks

  3. August 20, 2012 11:12 am

    My daughter and I love the Velma Gratch book! I’m glad to hear that it’s in paperback now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: