Skip to content

What Our Kids Are Reading

July 11, 2012

In today’s “What Our Kids Are Reading” our colleague and mom of three Deanna shares an insightful look at Mercer Mayer’s series of books featuring “Little Critter”. 

The Little Critter books by Mercer Mayer have long been favorites in this house.  The oldest, who’s now ten, loved them for years. The twins, at five, have gone through several phases.  We’ve got quite a few of them:

It may not look like a ton, but that’s a pretty decent stack for books that have no spine! In the biz we call them Picturebacks, 8×8’s (that’s literally their size) or staple backs. Many of these are out of print and some for good reason. Take the one on the top, Just a Bully. The book actually ends with the little sister hitting the bully back. That is not the curriculum my child is learning in Seattle Public Schools, I can tell you that much. The customer reviews on the on-line-bookseller-who-cannot-be-named are hilariously offended by the message, but my favorite one points out that it’s a great jumping off point for discussion on what does and doesn’t work. Out-of-print titles that are worth seeking include I’m Sorry or Just Me in the Tub.

There are Critter books about relationships with Mom, Dad, Grandpa and Grandma, as well as the usual round up of books about the dentist, playing on a team, and potty training. Of course there are the all-important holiday tie-ins for Christmas, Easter and Halloween.  Most are down to earth and just darned relatable.

This is the kid who forgets , makes a mess, gets mad, refuses to go to bed, and breaks his toys.  Mercer Mayer has a book for that and my kids have read them all. Less wordy and didactic than the Berenstain Bears, Little Critter is cheeky but loving, naughty but remorseful and always learning.

For a look at more Little Critter books you can click here. We think you’ll find a book for just about every situation.

Many Thanks to Deanna for giving us a parent’s eye view of Little Critter and thanks to all of you for joining us at RAoR today. Please share your thoughts in our comments section.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 8:29 am

    I don’t have as many, but do have a few favorites, from my grown children to now grandchildren! They make good gifts for father’s and mother’s day, too-Just Me and My Dad, and Just Me and My Mom. We love them! Thank you for sharing about them.

  2. July 11, 2012 10:37 am

    I love these, too! As the little sister, my favorite was “Me Too!” That’s what my family started to call me: Me Too. After over three decades, I still sign some things to my sister as “Me II.”

    • Deanna permalink
      July 11, 2012 1:12 pm

      Oh, that’s so cute Tegan! Ruby’s nickname is the “do it again girl” because once is just never enough for her. 🙂

  3. July 11, 2012 4:16 pm

    I love Little Critter’s facial expressions. 🙂

  4. Angela Sherrill permalink
    July 12, 2012 1:25 pm

    I had the Fisher Price Litter Critter Book & Record. Loved them. I still buy “Me Too” and the “Just Me and My…” series for young ones.

  5. July 12, 2012 11:30 pm

    Thank you for this stroll down literary memory lane. I’ve spent many hours curled up reading with my kids and Little Critter … such honest, tender and downright funny stories.

  6. July 13, 2012 8:38 pm

    I love these books! Just Go To Bed is a classic 🙂

Leave a Reply

