Skip to content

What’s On My Bookshelf: Sarah

May 30, 2012

Occasionally we like to feature our personal bookshelves, to give you a little glimpse into our private libraries. If you’d like us to feature your bookshelf, send a high-resolution picture and a little bit about the books on your shelf to our email address (randomactsofreading dot gmail dot com)!bookshelf

This is one of a few book cases in my recently completely nursery which will be occupied in less than a month by my first child, a baby girl we’re naming Mia! 

bookshelf 2 I’ve been building my children’s book collection for years and these shelves are the result of those efforts.  Often when I’m out visiting bookstores I ask my customers for recommendations so many of these books are a reminder of some very special people and places in my life!

reading nook

I imagine that I’ll be spending many hours in this little reading nook introducing Mia to many of my favorite characters, faraway lands, and exciting adventures. 

Over the last few months I have been showered with gifts from colleagues, customers, and friends and I am so excited to share some of my favorites with you today.  I also have lots of friends who are having babies these days, so I am always on the hunt for good baby shower gifts.  For those of you in a similar boat, these are all great recommendations from some of the best booksellers in the business!

HAPPY by Mies Van Hout

I fell in love with this new, simple, and gorgeously illustrated picture book that explores emotions – from bored to delighted, from nervous to brave – through the expressions of a group of brightly colored fish. 

LITTLE MASTER SHAKESPEARE Romeo & Juliet by Jennifer Adams, illustrated by Alison Oliver

This is part of a series of board books called BabyLit.  In addition to Shakespeare, with this stylish and hip series I can introduce Mia to classic writers Lewis Carroll, Charlotte Bronte, and Jane Austen. 

SHEILA RAE, THE BRAVE by Kevin Henkes

I am a big Kevin Henkes fans so I was thrilled to receive a hardcover copy of this backlist book about a very brave little girl and her very brave little sister.   This would be a great gift for a first time mom or for the big sister of a new baby. 

OH NO, GEORGE! by Chris Haughton

This picture book is for all of those dog lovers out there!  George has every intention of being a good dog while his owner is gone, but he just can’t help himself…. This will be so much fun to read to Mia with our dog Maddie close by!   

PANTONE Colors by Pantone

This very cool, artsy board book introduces little ones to the concept of different color tones.  

BEAR OF MY HEART by Joanne Ryder, illustrated by Margie Moore

A sweet and endearing story about the love of a mother bear for her cub, this book would make a great baby shower, Mother’s Day, or Valentine’s Day gift. 

Do you love giving books for baby shower gifts?  We’d love to know what you recommend for expecting moms and their new little ones!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 8:05 am

    Congratulations, Sarah!! What wonderful news! Your bookshelves and nursery are just gorgeous!!

  2. Dad permalink
    May 30, 2012 8:10 am

    Hey- Nice nursery! I can’t wait to sit in that rocking chair with Mia in my lap!

  3. May 30, 2012 9:21 am

    Beautiful nursery, Sarah!

  4. May 30, 2012 10:16 am

    Congratulations! Your nursery looks so peaceful and happy and you have some fantastic books on the shelves! Thanks for the tip on the Mies van Hout! HUMPTY WHO! is the best. I’m a children’s bookseller and I always recommend (and give) it as a shower gift. The Pantone Color Book is gorgeous and very fun, too. So many great picture books are being turned into board books now. A few of my new (and old) favorites for babies are – “Babies Everywhere” by Susan Meyers and the amazing Marla Frazee, Mem Fox and Helen Oxenbury’s “Ten Little Fingers,” “Orange, Pear, Apple, Bear” by Emily Gravett is beautiful and I am so happy to see Kevin Henkes “A Good Day” in board book. It is so simple and so sweet and perfect for little hands. Happy Reading!

  5. May 30, 2012 12:39 pm

    What a lovely little world you’ve created for Mia! I remember those wonderful days. My nursery was full of books from my childhood, things I’d collected through the years, and some hand-me-downs. One of our very favorites (one we still quote eleven years later) was Pepito the Brave.

    All the best to you and your little one.

  6. May 30, 2012 6:42 pm

    Thanks, everyone, for the kind words and for sharing some of your favorite books for little ones! -Sarah

  7. May 30, 2012 7:30 pm

    Oh, so lovely and tidy! My bookshelves are shameful in comparison…

  8. May 31, 2012 3:14 am

    the nursery is so pretty! you may want to add the following to your bookshelves: YOU ARE MY CUPCAKE and WE BELONG TOGETHER by Joyce Wan, SUBWAY by Anastasia Suen and Karen Katz, BABY DANCED THE POLKA by Karen Beaumont and Jennifer Plecas, POUCH by David Ezra Stein, the LLAMA LLAMA books, and ………I better stop here or this is going to be a very long reply.

  9. Heidi permalink
    May 31, 2012 1:14 pm

    Don’t forget Betsy Snyder’s wonderful books; especially the board book, HAIKU BABY.

  10. May 31, 2012 3:45 pm

    I want to live in your nursery! It is stunning. I love to give Because of You by BG Hennessy as well as classic Caldecott winners: Blueberries for Sal and Little House. Have a joyful delivery.

  11. Roosevelt Hutchcraft permalink
    April 4, 2013 4:58 pm

    Your baby’s life is filled with amazing firsts: first smile, first word, first step. Make your baby’s first book and music equally special with selections from Baby’s First Book Club. This unique club provides parents with age-appropriate books in a variety of baby-safe book formats. Your first shipment includes a soft cloth book that comes with an adorable—and detachable—plush monkey; two large lift-the-flap books; a chunky board book; and an audio CD perfect for listening to with little ones. This total package will engage your baby’s senses at a low introductory price that even includes shipping—and best of all, there’s no commitment!;

    Please do browse our favorite internet site
    <'http://www.caramoan.co/caramoan-tour/

Leave a Reply

