Skip to content

A Book We’re Loving: Book Speak!

May 23, 2012

9780547223001

A few weeks ago, while browsing the picture book aisle with my daughter at our local library, we came upon a book that instantly caught my eye: BOOK SPEAK! POEMS ABOUT BOOKS. I will read just about anything that celebrates books and reading, so I checked it out to peruse further at home. The book turned out to be a delightful package of collage art and clever poems written from the perspective of books, calling out for readers, pleading for you to open the cover and liberate their stories, asking for a sequel  and requesting a book plate. The book’s first poem commands young readers to set aside other entertainment and get lost in a book, declaring:

I’ll tell you a story

I’ll spin you a rhyme

I’ll spill some ideas-

and we’ll travel through time.

Put down the controller.

Switch off the TV.

Abandon the mouse and

just hang out with me.

I promise adventure.

Come on, take a look!

On a day like today,

there’s no friend like a book.

Another poem that made my daughter laugh was called “Lights Out at the Bookstore.” This poem claims that as soon as bookstores close for the evening, the party really starts…eating treats in the cookbook section, children’s books laughing and climbing on the counters, having such a great time that

We party on until dawn.

We’re wired, too tired

to hoist ourselves

back to the shelves.

My very favorite poem in the book, though, is called “This is the Book.” Starting with the writer, then on to the editor, designer, illustrator, publisher, buyer and then finally the reader, it is a perfect depiction of the life of a book from start to end (the reader), and it ends with these touching words

She is the reader

who browses the shelf

and looks for new worlds

but finds herself.

This book would make a wonderful read for lovers of books, poetry and words, or for teachers and librarians to use with children ages five to ten. I loved it, and I think you will, too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 8:14 am

    It’s true this is one, great, long-lasting books about one of my favorite topics; books, written by one of my favorite people; Laura!

  2. May 23, 2012 8:16 am

    This looks and sounds fantastic!

  3. May 23, 2012 10:02 am

    I, too, love anything about books and reading, especially collecting old children’s books. Check out I AM THE BOOK, poems selected by Lee Bennett Hopkins and illustrated by Yayo. One of my favorite books of 2011. The illustrations are extraordinary too, clever and charming.

  4. May 23, 2012 5:15 pm

    How lovely!!!!

Leave a Reply

