Skip to content

A Look Inside Children’s Publishing: Teresa’s Internship at Random House

May 11, 2012

Today, we’re pleased to share a guest post from our recent intern, Teresa. She has just completed her internship in the children’s department and is here with thoughts on the experience plus a few favorite books she read “on the job!”

9780060254926 

I grew up in a household where reading was not only encouraged, but celebrated, and it is this celebration of the written word that I have experienced time and time again after a new book finds itself into my hands. From WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE to ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND to A WRINKLE IN TIME, as a child I was always surrounded by great books that helped influence my reading habits and shaped me into the avid reader that I am today.

After graduating with a degree in English literature and then having no idea what to do with it, I decided to further my love of books and reading by pursuing graduate school to help me break into the only logical and rewarding career I could think of: publishing, specifically children’s book publishing. I have always been partial to children’s literature and amazed by the effect that books can have in shaping a person from an early age, and this initial appreciation turned into a desire to have a hand in helping launch children’s fiction for a new age of readers.

As a graduate student studying publishing, I have been granted the opportunity to learn from the best professionals in the industry, participate in trips to major houses for discussions and presentations, and have jumpstarted my career in the publishing capitol of the world. Each of these opportunities stand alone as downright incredible, but the chance I was given to intern in the sales department at Random House Children’s Books this past semester has by far been the most rewarding and memorable experience to date. Over the past few months, I have learned a great deal about a segment of the industry that I had always dreamed of being a part of, whether that be attending weekly internal sales meetings, creating sell sheets for the field team or sending out a mailing of this season’s rep pick to the major independent booksellers, I have learned so much in such a short time.

Following time spent learning from professionals who are amazing at what they do and who have a genuine love for the material, I can sincerely say that my heart belongs to children’s book publishing and if given the chance, it is the market that I plan to stay in. My time at Random House will not soon be forgotten, and I know that the knowledge I have gained here will serve me well as I look ahead to a bright career in book publishing.

Thanks to Random House for a truly wonderful semester!

Book Recommendations:

I’ve read quite a lot of middle-grade and young adult books published or soon to be published by Random House this semester (and I have to say it definitely beats reading chapters from a marketing textbook). A couple of the books that had the greatest impact on me were STARTERS and SUMMER AT FORSAKEN LAKE, two stories that I found myself wrapped up in long after I put the finished book down.

9780385742375

STARTERS, the first book in a two-part young adult series by debut author Lissa Price, surprised me with its thrilling and unique storyline. I felt myself getting lost in this shocking story of a sixteen year old girl who is forced to rent her body out to waiting “Enders”, wealthy senior citizens who eagerly await the chance to relive their youth in a rented teenage body. I’m patiently waiting for the publication of Enders in December and can’t wait to discover the sure to be breathtaking end to this addictive series. Due yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this book – you won’t be disappointed!

9780375867422

SUMMER AT FORSAKEN LAKE is a middle-grade book written by Michael Beil that will be on sale this June (and is also our summer rep pick!). It is the perfect summer read for both kids and the young at heart who are looking to relive the sweet and endless summers of long past. While reading this adventure-filled and heartwarming tale, I found myself yearning for the carefree summer days of my childhood spent at the beach enjoying the wonderfully warm weather. Make sure to leave room on your summer reading list for this charming book.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 8:06 am

    Great post! Blessings as you pursue your passion.

  2. May 11, 2012 8:51 am

    Your middle grade pick sounds like a treasure!

  3. May 11, 2012 3:57 pm

    I have a feeling Teresa will make an impact in publishing one of these days.

  4. May 13, 2012 8:33 pm

    Great post. I always find it interesting to read about behind the scenes work in publishing. As a copy editor, I’d love to work for a publishing house someday!

Leave a Reply

