Skip to content

A Book We’re Loving: Starters by Lissa Price

March 26, 2012

9780385742375

I will admit right up front that I rarely read dystopian young adult books. I’ve read THE HUNGER GAMES series, but the sea of paranormal, dystopian and fantasy books that crowd bookstore shelves these days leaves me cold. I blame this on a combination of factors: no longer being a teen myself, a preference for wistful, angsty contemporary fiction, and a genuine fear of the dark future world depicted in many of these books. But when I realized that a book we were publishing was written by a local Southern California author, a book I had heard much internal buzz about already, I decided to give it a try. I’m so glad that I did, because STARTERS by debut author Lissa Price is a fast-paced thrilling book that I read in just one sitting.

Set in the near future, after everyone but the very young and the very old have been killed in a bio-warfare attack, the book opens with Callie, a teenager, deciding to “rent” her body to wealthy seniors wanting to be young again, through the shadowy and mysterious organization called Prime Destinations. Needing the money they promise her to care for her sickly younger brother, Callie agrees to the “rentals.” During a routine rental, however, a neurochip malfunction leads to Callie waking up. At first, Callie relishes her temporary life, living in a mansion, driving a flashy car and befriending other Enders in young rented bodies at special nightclubs. But when she realizes that her Ender has a deadly plan for Callie’s body to carry out, she must decide who she can trust, her Ender, Prime Destinations, or her own survival instincts.

STARTERS is a must-read for teens or adults looking for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ books. It’s exciting and funny, with a strong female heroine, a hint of romance, and a touching brother/sister relationship. And the great news is that fans only have to wait until December to see what happens to Callie after the book’s cliffhanger conclusion when ENDERS, the sequel, is published.

But you don’t have to take my word for it. Check out this rave from the Los Angeles Times review:

“Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is a terrific series kickoff with a didn’t-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats . . .” 

You can watch the book’s trailer here.

We have a signed copy of STARTERS to give away to one lucky reader. Please leave a comment below to win and we will draw a name Wednesday. US residents only, please.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina slusarski permalink
    March 26, 2012 8:32 am

    I hope this is worthy of a Hunger Games!!!!

  2. Annie permalink
    March 26, 2012 10:16 am

    Would love to read it! Need more quality fast reads. Not entire used to the genre either, but they have grown on me…

  3. March 26, 2012 10:45 am

    I’m glad to know it’s good – that cover’s rather creepy.

  4. Nancy Johnshoy permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:42 pm

    Excellent news! There are two teens in my house that would love to read this series.

  5. March 26, 2012 10:03 pm

    Oh my gosh this seems amazing yet creepy yet still amazing… 0_o

  6. March 27, 2012 8:06 pm

    I can’t wait to read this! Sounds great!

  7. March 30, 2012 2:36 pm

    Met Lissa last night at her Princeton B&N signing (which was FABULOUS–everybody loved her!), and bought a copy. I can’t wait to read it!

  8. Nancy Johnshoy permalink
    May 3, 2012 7:24 pm

    Never did receive the book I won :>(

    • Erin permalink
      May 3, 2012 7:55 pm

      hi Nancy,

      Did you email us your mailing address? I’m so sorry, I never received it.

      Erin

Trackbacks

  1. Starters by Lissa Price: Winner! « Random Acts of Reading
  2. The Dangerous Price of Youth: Lissa Price’s Starters | Everyday eBook

Leave a Reply

