Skip to content

What’s On My Bookshelf with Author Josh Berk

March 5, 2012

Today’s “What’s On My Bookshelf” features a young adult author we love, Josh Berk. In addition to working as a children’s librarian, Josh wrote the edgy and funny mystery, THE DARK DAYS OF HAMBURGER HALPIN, as well as the upcoming GUY LANGMAN, CRIME SCENE PROCRASTINATOR, which Kirkus raved about, saying, “Hilarious wit and serious gloom blend seamlessly as Guy wades through the year after his dad’s death…Guy’s running inner monologue is sharply observational, sardonic, funny and sad…Best friend Anoop and other peers are freshly unusual, not recycled character types.”

DSCN0572 These are the bookshelves in my home library. Every room in my house is sort of a library (and my workplace is a literal library) but this is the prettiest shelf. That’s entirely due to my wife’s work. She’s the one with style. If it was up to me I’d probably live in some sort of hovel. A hovel with bookshelves of course, or at least a bucket of books. I love books! And also buckets. The decorating I cannot take credit for, but the book selection is mostly me. I do see one of my son’s books in there — the Cars “Look & Find.” I swear that’s not mine. OK, sometimes I look at it. Why are you so hard to find, Mater-in-a-fire-hat?!?!

It’s not to easy to title-snoop from this picture so I will tell you that they are basically in four categories: art books, baseball books, comic books, and young adult novels. Oh yes, there are also some other fancy books by people like Tennyson & Longfellow. If those books had a Dewey number, it would be 000, as in the chance I will ever read them. I totally have read  “Remembrance of Things Past”  by Marcel Proust though. Great read. I totally recommend picking it up.

All the comics and baseball books have been read. That book by Don Zimmer is actually autographed. So is the umpire one, by Bruce Weber. Actually a ton of these books are autographed. My parents both were librarians for many years & they went to ALA whenever they could. Which is why I have some awesome autographs from legends such as Avi, Virginia Hamilton, and Norma Fox Mazer. That one actually says “To Julie,” whoever that is. (Just kidding, that’s my sister. I hope she doesn’t read this and find out I stole her Norma Fox Mazer…)

A lot of the other autographs are from people I’m proud to call my friends: Cyn Balog, A.S. King, Shaun Hutchinson, Jon Skovron, and Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich to name a few. I have a copy of STARGIRL autographed by Jerry Spinelli, but we’re not friends (though once I did pretend we were to try to impress a stranger for some reason). I have some Kurtis Scaletta & Steve Brezenoff up there, though I don’t think those two are signed. Thanks a lot, dudes.

If you asked me to pick a favorite book from these, I would have to say that is impossible. As Proust said, “Each book is a masterpiece of love and the admiration for each is whole.” (Just kidding, he never said that. I totally never read that book.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Mackey permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:15 am

    Ummm…. 🙂

  2. March 5, 2012 1:01 pm

    Haha wow 😀

  3. March 5, 2012 2:41 pm

    I need to get his wife to come arrange my shelves for me!

  4. Kristy McRae permalink
    March 5, 2012 6:22 pm

    Uh-oh, Josh…I think you’re busted…. (Too funny, Julie!) Great bookshelf. Mine don’t look nearly as lovely–way too many books crammed into not-enough-space! I’ve got a pretty cool autograph sitting here by my computer, on a bookplate. It’s by some guy named Josh Berk… 😉 (Thanks, Julie, for making that happen!) Sadly, I have no book to put it in yet….I was supposed to receive a copy from the lovely folks here at Random Acts (from that random drawing, way back last year), but I think it went where the odd socks go! I’ll have to make sure my local bookstore gets a copy of Guy Langman in for me, as soon as it’s available! Thanks for your entertaining post! I’m off to do some reading. Most likely NOT Proust! 🙂

    • Erin permalink
      March 5, 2012 6:41 pm

      Kristy, I thought I sent it to you? I will order it for you right now. Sorry about that.

      • Kristy McRae permalink
        March 14, 2012 2:08 pm

        Hi Erin–I tried to reply to you once, but it doesn’t appear to have shown up… At any rate, no worries about the book! It was during the crazy holidays that I’d originally contacted you. I know how busy I was, so I imagine you were as well! Thanks so much!

  5. March 5, 2012 10:58 pm

    “I love books! And also buckets.” Too funny, Josh. Kudos to your wife for those impressive and lovely shelves.

    And I’m sure you read Remembrance of Things Past. Yeah. Uh huh.

    I’m about half-way through the ARC of Guy Langman. Excellent so far!

  6. March 7, 2012 10:41 am

    That is one pristine bookshelf. Now where’s the messy pile of books beside the overflowing desk? That’s the picture I really want to see.

Trackbacks

  1. What’s On My Bookshelf with Author Kirsten Hubbard « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

