Skip to content

Random Acts of Listening: Valentine’s Day Tunes

February 8, 2012

Today’s Random Acts of Listening post comes to us from Ebony in our audio division.

Love is in the air. Except for me. Seriously, I’m gasping here.

However, I can still dream. Here are a few audios that I’ll be listening to this February for a little romantic inspiration.

Bloodrose

BLOODROSE by Andrea Creamer, read by Rebecca Lowman

It’s been a little over six months since I finished listening to Wolfsbane, the latest audiobook in the Nightshade series by Andrea Creamer. By December I was going through serious withdrawal. I had ample free time during the holidays and I was in serious need of an enwrapping listen. Thankfully, my second favorite love trio (behind Twilight’s Bella, Edward, and Jacob) is back with a new story, read by Rebecca Lowman. In Bloodrose, Calla, Ren, and Shay are in the middle of a deadly war to defeat the Keepers, and to save their packmates from enslavement. When the dust has finally settled and the war is over, who will Calla choose—Ren or Shay? Is true love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Bloodrose is a fantastic mix of fantasy, romance, drama, and action. Basically, every type of girl (from princesses to tomboys) will love it.

Breaking Dawn

BREAKING DAWN by Stephenie Meyer, read by Ilyana Kadushin and Matt Walters

I have to admit it—I have not seen the final book in the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn, in theaters yet. I don’t want the ride to be over. I’ve devoted years of my life to Stephenie Meyer’s series, and I don’t want to admit that our relationship has come to an end. While I know it will be a difficult break-up, one day I will make the leap, go to a theater, and watch Taylor Lautner’s abs for the last time. But until that day comes, I’ll listen to Ilyana Kadushin’s reading of Breaking Dawn on audio.

Fallen in Love

FALLEN IN LOVE by Lauren Kate, read by Justine Eyre

Talented novelist Lauren Kate adds her own flair to the novella format in Fallen in Love, read by Justine Eyre. This audiobook gives fans the much-talked about but never-revealed stories of Fallen characters as they intertwine with the epic love story of Luce and Daniel. Like the two audios mentioned above, I live vicariously through Luce as she struggles with her feelings for Daniel. Playing hard to get definitely makes these audiobooks irresistible.

This February 14 take a listen to these audiobooks and you’ll know romance isn’t dead. At least on audio.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 9:51 pm

    Haha I’m not a big Twilight fan (since I haven’t read the books… I’m not really into the super-romantic stuff), but I watched New Moon at my friend’s Birthday Party, and it was hilarious when everyone cheered for Taylor Lautner’s abs, but booed for Robert Pattinson’s. I was just sitting there, kind of amused.

    I’ve never listened to an audiobook (except Romeo and Juliet). I prefer the voice inside my head interpreting the characters. But it was interesting to see how the audio did it.

Leave a Reply

