Skip to content

Random Acts of Listening: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of A Wrinkle in Time

January 13, 2012

Today’s post was written for us by Rebecca Waugh, Executive Editor, Acquisitions for Listening Library. Thanks for joining us, Rebecca!

Wrinkle          Reach Me

“It was a dark and stormy night.”  Is that not one of the best first lines in a novel, ever?  So simple and mysterious.  As one of my favorite books from childhood, A Wrinkle in Time travelled with me when I moved to New York for my first job in publishing.  It’s an old dog-eared paperback, and I can’t remember the first time I read it, because I must have read it (and the two sequels) about five times as a kid.  But it was only after I started working at Listening Library that it dawned on me that A Wrinkle in Time was a treasured book for so many people.  It has long been one of our most popular audio titles, and knowing that the 50th anniversary was coming in 2012, we started thinking about doing something special with the audiobook to celebrate.  And the funny thing was, the more we talked about A Wrinkle in Time, the more I began noticing references to it everywhere.   Many writers cite it as an influential favorite, including Rebecca Stead.   But it pops up in popular culture too – like when Sawyer is seen reading it on the TV show LOST.  (Apparently, an entire book club was spawned based on the books that Sawyer read.)  I believe the enduring appeal of this book is the unique blend of fantasy and science fiction, and it’s beautifully written.

Timed with the anniversary, we decided to give A Wrinkle in Time a brand-new recording, expertly read by the talented actress Hope Davis.  And to help promote it, we came up with a contest that pairs two amazing audiobooks together: A Wrinkle in Time and When You Reach Me.  To enter, contestants must write a postcard to their future or past self.   Visitors to our website can listen to clips from these two time/space traveling classics for inspiration…and the lucky grand prize winner will get a new digital camera.

Rebecca Stead and Madeleine L’Engle’s granddaughter Charlotte Jones Voiklis will determine the winners based on the writing and poignancy of the entry.  We’re very excited to be celebrating the 50th anniversary of A Wrinkle in Time, and the Newbery Award-winning When You Reach Me.  If someone you know (young or old!) hasn’t discovered these great audiobooks yet, please encourage them to take a listen…and enter the contest at www.timetravelcontest.com

For those who get hooked on Madeleine L’Engle, we’re also delighted to announce new recordings of the sequels: A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet, read by Jennifer Ehle.  A fun bit of trivia… some of you may recognize Jennifer Ehle from her terrific portrayal of Elizabeth Bennet in the BBC Pride & Prejudice miniseries.  Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 9:03 am

    What a great idea for a contest. I loved When You Reach Me and in honor of the anniversary am just now reading A Wrinkle In Time & re-visiting all the favorite lines & scenes. It’s wonderful that so many things are happening this year to celebrate this book.

  2. May 2, 2013 1:29 pm

    I think that you will agree with me that there is a lot of jewelry lovers worldwide.
    My wife is a giant jewelry lover, too. We will be celebrating our first
    wedding anniversary within a few weeks.

    I was looking for a truly beautiful anniversary gift for her.

    She has almost everything, so I was interested in a gift which will make her stunned.

    I was searching in a lot of gift stores on the internet
    for over a week. And I was lucky to find the company which is selling a fascinating
    glass necklaces. Wow, I realized that such necklace will be
    a beautiful anniversary gift for my wife.

    So I ordered this necklace from the on-line store which
    is owned by WEXONMART, Inc. I placed the order, and I received
    the package from WEXONMART within two days. These guys are pretty fast, for sure.

    I think that my wife will love this fascinating necklace.
    These necklaces have been designed by the famous and very
    talented jewelry designer. This designer has a lot of extraordinary
    clients like country music stars, wives of politicians,
    etc.

    As I said my wife is the giant jewelry lover.

    This splendid necklace will make my wife feeling so special.
    I will love to see her happiness in her gorgeous eyes.

    So, if your wife is a jewelry lover as my wife does then these delicate necklaces could
    be your perfect choice for a splendid and stunning gift for your wife, too.

    Best regards

    Graig Whitley
    Santa Monica, CA

Leave a Reply

