Skip to content

12 Days of Holiday Gift Suggestions: Day 9

December 20, 2011

Day 9 of our 12 Days of Holiday Gift Suggestions posts comes to you from Erin. This book would make a wonderful gift for teens or adults who love literary fiction and fantasy.

The best books are those that you want to read again and again. This was a year of many amazing books, but one that I read just a few months ago and am already considering revisiting over the winter break is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. In Morgenstern’s dark, atmospheric story, young duelling magicians Celia and Marco are engaged in a magical fight to the death while also falling deeply in love. Their backdrop is the extraordinary black and white Le Cirque des Reves. Morgenstern’s gift lies in her sense of setting- anyone who reads this book will dream of their town being visited one night by this mysterious, magical troupe. Although I loved Celia and Marco and their tragic passion, I enjoyed the rest of the circus’ performers and managers even more. Poppet, Widget, the clock-maker, the contortionist: each added to the lush danger, tragedy and romance of the story. I found myself sneaking away to read this book every chance I got, and everyone who I’ve given it to has been similarly unable to put it down. Though this book is an adult novel, it would make a perfect gift for teens who enjoy books like Twilight or Hush. The movie rights have already been optioned, so don’t miss your chance to read the book before it is released!

Reading The Night Circus reminded me of a picture book we sold many years ago called Last Night I Dreamed a Circus. This gorgeous illustrated poem showed the wonder of a circus from a child’s perspective. The reader is unsure if the circus was real or just imagined, and the illustrations capture that dreamy, colorful feeling, with acrobats, tigers and contortionists leaping across the pages. I loved the art so much that I framed pages from the F & G for my office. Sadly, the book is now out of print, but I would encourage everyone to visit your local library to see if they have a copy. This would be a fantastic book to share with preschool aged children in your life.

Comments welcome -and if you leave a comment you’ll have a chance to win all 12 of the books that we’ve featured during our 12 Days of Holiday Books!  (US Residents Only)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2011 9:01 am

    I’m forwarding this to a friend, who used to be in a circus, still does some things, like juggling, and all her children are learning too! The books look great! Thanks!

  2. December 20, 2011 9:58 am

    The Night Circus was amazing. I was astounded by the ambition needed to write a book like this!

  3. December 20, 2011 10:43 am

    I haven’t read The Night Circus yet, but any book that makes you remember an old book is awesome!

  4. December 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    Hm I don’t really like Twilight… but this sounds like a really cool book…

    CONFLICT 😛

    • Erin permalink
      December 20, 2011 4:18 pm

      I loved this 1000% more than Twilight- just wanted to give a comparison many teens would have read 🙂

    • December 20, 2011 5:45 pm

      This would be about 5 million steps above Twilight in the literary pantheon. Twihards might like the romantic aspect of it but intelligent people will appreciate the lush, descriptive writing! And a femaile lead character who is more than just a silly girl who loves two men.

  5. December 20, 2011 7:35 pm

    I think The Night Circus is the book I’ve most often seen/heard recommended this year. And will definitely look for the picture book from the library. Thanks!

    • Erin permalink
      December 20, 2011 7:42 pm

      One of my other favorites was Rules of Civility. I’d recommend both highly. And I just started Art of Fielding, which I heard is awesome, too, so I’ll have to report back on that one!

  6. December 21, 2011 7:16 am

    I have heard nothing but good about this book! Gotta read it!

  7. Caroline permalink
    December 22, 2011 12:53 pm

    It’s definitely on my “to read” list, thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

