Skip to content

Get To Know a Rep: Sarah N.

July 27, 2011

We decided it would be fun to “reintroduce” ourselves to you, so periodically we’ve been running “Get to Know a Rep” posts to give our readers a little more information on the people writing this blog! We’ve featured Kate, Deanna, Nic, Dandy and Erin and today’s post is from Sarah N. Hope you enjoy this!  As always, if you have more questions for us, please leave them in the comment section and we’ll respond there.

Favorite childhood bookstore? Tattered Cover in Denver, Co.  The store I loved as a child and into my 20’s moved locations a few years ago, but I’ll never forget the feeling I’d get when I walked through those doors. 

Favorite genre to read for fun? A little bit of everything and a lot dictated by my mood. I love a good mystery when I’m feeling bored, something thought-provoking when I feel like thinking and light and fluffy when I don’t, and sometimes I’m just looking for a good cry.  And I love reading anything recommended by my colleagues and customers–those are always the best books.

What’s a previous job you’ve had that our readers would find surprising? Nothing super surprising but one summer during college I had a 19 year old’s dream job… I nannied for infant twins for a few weeks in Hawaii and basically got paid to hang out on the beach!

Favorite activity outside of work? Anything that gets me outside and moving, I’m not good at staying still for very long!  Also, I love to cook (and eat).  Things I don’t like to do when I’m not working? The dishes!

Hiking with my dog Maddie

Favorite movie based on a book? Anne of Green Gables, definitely. But I’m really looking forward to watching The Help when it comes out in early August – it was filmed just a couple of hours from me and I have some friends who are extras in the movie!

Favorite work memory (so far)? Lots of great memories but one of my favorites is the feeling I got when I walked into the Random House lobby in New York for the first time.  I remember thinking, “I actually work here?!?”  I felt like a little kid in a candy shop, completely awestruck and giddy!  Here’s a picture I took to commemorate that day.


Next non-work related project? I tend to be a little obsessive when it comes to planning, although I’m trying to get better at living ‘one day at a time’.  That being said, here are some of the things on my ‘to-do in the near future’ list: complete a triathlon, paint my bedroom, rearrange the books in my den alphabetically by author (I can’t find anything right now), start–and finish–a book by William Faulkner, and learn to make sushi!

Any favorite spots from your travels? Yes, so many!  I’m in Asheville, NC today so I’ll stick with my favorite spots in this lovely town (one of my all time favorite places).  Must eat at Doc Chey’s Noodle House delicious Asian fusion.  Must listen to the local radio station 98.1 the River.  Must shop at Malaprops, of course.  Must hike somewhere in the beautiful Great Smoky Mountains. Here’s a picture of the breathtaking sunset last night (well actually, I missed the sunset by about 5 minutes and it was a hazy night, plus I took this on my camera phone, but you get the idea).  

Thanks for reading.  Have a great day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 8:17 am

    Sarah is a fabulous rep! I hope to see her at SIBA again this year! I love Asheville, too – any chance you’ll wander to upstate South Carolina?

  2. July 27, 2011 3:23 pm

    That is a great lobby. I once spent about an hour there.

  3. Carol Moyer permalink
    July 29, 2011 10:28 am

    You are one of the best, Sarah. I have really liked the books that you have highly recommended on each list. Come have some NC barbecue next time you are in town!

Leave a Reply

