Skip to content

Eight Questions with Author Cyn Balog

July 13, 2011

Cyn Balog has the world coolest name – plus she writes books that moms can feel good about handing to the teens in their lives. Today Cyn joins us to answer a few questions about Starstruck (now available), her writing process, inspiration and what we can look forward to reading from her in the future!

Q. Are you working on a fourth book?

A. I’ve just completed copyedits for my fourth book, which is called TOUCHED. It’s about a guy who struggles to rid himself of his ability to see the future. Ordinarily people would think that’s a great gift, but it is a curse to him; he can see thousands of iterations of the future based on small decisions he makes every day, he only recalls small bits of the future, out of context, so it makes no sense, and every time he changes the future, even a little bit, it gives him a horrible headache. And I just finished my fifth book, DEAD RIVER, which is a ghost story about a girl who learns the truth about her mother’s mysterious disappearance during a whitewater rafting trip in Maine.

Q. What was your favorite genre to read as a teenager?

A. I straddled a line between Judy Blume stuff and Stephen King, depending on the day. Which is probably why STARSTRUCK is a coming-of-age tale about a girl learning to have confidence in herself, but also about weird, weird happenings in an otherwise quiet coastal town.

Q. What inspired you to write about the Luminati?

A. People hear Luminati and think it’s an actual cult, but no, I made it up… somewhat. People are thinking of the Illuminati, which is something Lady Gaga is into and the subject of The DaVinci Code. But the Luminati is loosely based on actual ancient civilizations that used to believe in the power of the stars; that stars could make people sick or heal them, and that stars could influence the way people saw things.

Q. Which character speaks the loudest, to you? Do any of them clamor to be heard over the others?

A. Dough is me, completely, which is why Starstruck is probably my favorite book of the few I’ve written. I was made fun of incessantly while I was growing up! I know I obsessed about fitting in every day, and it took me a long time afterward to build up my confidence. I feel like middle and high school can really tear at your self-worth so badly that it can take years to recover. Starstruck is my little note to teen readers to tell them they’re not alone, and that whoever they are, it’s okay.

Q. Do you plan to continue writing young adult novels or do you think you might write for adults down the road?

I’ve written for adults in the past, and I’ve come to believe that writing for young adults is more … everything. More fun, more fulfilling, more interesting, more challenging, and above all, it has the best readers and fans. Teen readers are so wonderful. I get so many great letters and emails from them, and I happily answer every one. They are just so fantastic, so interested, so excited, that it makes my work a complete joy!

Q. Do you ever experience writer’s block?

A. I do, but the best way to get over it is to write through it. You keep writing bad stuff and eventually you will hit upon something good.

Q. What is one piece of advice you would like to give to aspiring authors?

A. Do not ever give up. I know, how many times have you heard that before? But it’s the truth.

Q. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

A. Thank you. I would not be able to do this without you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 5:44 pm

    This sounds so interesting! Must go check to see if my library has a copy…

  2. July 14, 2011 7:02 am

    Great interview!

Leave a Reply

