Skip to content

Deanna’s Summer Reading Stack

July 5, 2011

Sales conference is a few weeks away so I’m trying to read as much as I can on the Spring 2012 list. But before I got down to business, I read Ready Player One from the adult side because it’s gotten great pre-pub buzz both in-house and out. It certainly lived up to the hype! This is a fun, fast paced near-future dystopia wrapped up in 80’s pop-culture packaging. If you came of age in the ‘80’s or just play one on TV, you’re going to love all of the references to John Hughes movies, 80’s hair, clothes and music and the origins of video games.

But back to “kids” books:

The Book of Blood and Shadow will be published in January 2012. Written by Robin Wasserman, author of the 7 Deadly Sins and Skinned series, this is a literary mystery filled with action, history (both real and imagined), suspense and a little romance thrown in. Much to my relief, romance was not the main component. The action centers on the translation of letters written in Latin from a girl living in the 16th century by a modern teenager. The letters lead her and her friends to places they never thought possible, and she finds herself oddly linked to a girl who lived 400 years ago. This is one of those books that assumes a certain level intelligence and maturity of its readers, but is still completely relatable and relevant to teens. In other words, my favorite kind!

And now I’ve skipped over to the summer 2012 list to read a book that was recommended to me called Summer at Forsaken Lake. It’s the first stand-alone novel from Michael Beil, author of our well-reviewed Red Blazer Girls mysteries. Although I’m only about halfway through, I can see that this is the kind of book that will appeal to fans of Holes, The Penderwicks and other great literary middle grade novels. It’s the perfect summer read for tweens and will appeal to both boys and girls. I’m always thrilled to find great middle grade because I tend to gravitate towards YA.

What’s on my list for the rest of summer?

A Visit from the Goon Squad is my book club’s pick for August so I need to read that. It’s only been on my list for 2 years or so, so I’ll be glad to finally get to it!

I’ve heard so much hype about China Mieville, I thought I’d finally read one. His new book, Embassyville, made the list.

Tiger’s Wife (could there be any more hype about this book?)

And I have a few books I plan to read with my 9 year old: we’re making our way through the Harry Potter series, Phantom Tollbooth (I’ve never read it!) and Johnny Tremain, one of my favorite books of all time.

Competitive reading: no, this isn’t like competitive eating! I picked up a few titles recently from other kids publishers (something I don’t really do that much) because I’d heard so much about them. So I’m hoping to read Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Why and National Book Award winner Mockingbird.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cheryl McKeon permalink
    July 5, 2011 8:02 pm

    Deanna…I don’t know how you do it! Have fun and good luck. I love Mockingbird.

Leave a Reply

