Skip to content

Holiday Weekend Reading

July 1, 2011

Since we’re headed into a long, holiday weekend, we thought we would share a little bit about the books that will be keeping us busy the next few days! We’ll see you back here on Tuesday!

Erin:

Ahhh, a long weekend! I don’t know about you, but the first thing that I think about when four vacation days stretch ahead of me is what books I’ll be reading (that, and what I can possibly do to keep my kids busy that whole time, of course!) I usually save “adult” books for vacation, since I read so many middle grade and young adult novels during my work weeks. This long weekend I’ll be finishing Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan. It’s the story of four generations of Irish women with a summer home in Maine, and so far, I’m riveted by the lovely prose, the family secrets, and the interesting but flawed characters I already feel like I know. If I finish it before the weekend is over (and I probably will), next on my list is the new Kate Christensen novel, The Astral. I have loved her previous works- I think her writing is pure genius- and can’t wait to immerse myself in this book, about a middle-aged poet trying to turn his failing life around against the backdrop of a gentrifying Brooklyn neighborhood. A cool drink, a dip in the pool, time with family and friends, and a few well-written and totally entertaining new reads- I can’t think of a better way to relax.

Nic:

I have no idea what I will be reading, my stack is too high and needs to be thinned out!  But my Mom is coming to visit from Michigan and I can tell you what I will be suggesting to her……..Every You, Every Me by David Levithan (arrives on shelves this September!) – I just finished this book and need her to read it so we can talk it through!  It’s a great psychological thriller that will keep her up late reading by headlamp.  The Code Busters Club, by Penny Warner (also arrives on shelves in September)  – it’s a quick middle grade read, perfect for a day at the park.  And finally, a title that is on shelves now, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, which I haven’t read but have been meaning to. 

Sarah:

I have no big plans this holiday weekend which means I’ll have plenty of time to read, and I can’t wait!  On the top of my weekend stack is Hourglass by Myra McIntire. I started this book months ago but it was such an easy sell – the cover did most of the work for me – that I put it down and have been anxious to get back to.  Also at the top of my pile is Surreal South, a collection of short stories and poem by Southern writers.  Since I don’t find much time to read ‘adult’ books, short stories are the perfect solution – I can get my fix in one quick sitting.  And I have to admit that I rarely read a second book in a series but I’m making an exception with Ingenue, the follow-up to Vixen, because I just have to know what happens to Gloria, Clara and Lorraine in this delicious 1920’s Flapper series.  Lastly, I plan to finish a book I started this week that’s on our summer 2012 list (we read so far ahead!) The Unbearable Literary Society for Unsinkable Girls – isn’t that title awesome!?

I’d also like to spend some time perusing the shelves of my local indie bookstore, Lorelei Books, because there’s nothing like a good recommendation from a passionate bookseller with a cup of coffee in hand and a lazy afternoon to kill.

Kate:

To prove beyond a doubt that I am a true reading fanatic, let me tell you that one of the highlights of my taking the week of July 4th off is this pile of YA & Middle Grade novels pictured below. One of the things I never have enough time for is reading books published by “the other publishers”, but thanks to the kindness of a couple of sales colleagues (Thanks Nikki & Debra!) and some of the best independent booksellers in the world (Thanks Terri, Suzanna and my pals at NE Mobile Bookfair!) I have more than enough to keep me busy rain or shine, between gardening, visiting and a little shopping on my summer vacation.

I’ve been piling the books up for a few months, some I’ve had on my list for longer, and while I’m looking forward to reading all of them, I may fit in a few of my own publisher’s books (conveniently tucked away in the E-Reader) because they’re hard to resist too. In my pile are Melina Marchetta’s The Piper’s Son, the long awaited sequel to one of my favorites Saving Francesca, Maureen Johnson’s  13 Little Blue Envelopes and its sequel The Last Little Blue Envelope, another sequel The Last of the High Kings by Kate Thompson—I adored her first book The New Policeman . And if I finish that bunch I hope to have time for the winner of the 2011 Boston Globe Horn Book Award for Fiction Tim Wynne-Jones Blink & Caution.  Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma  and The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney, both come highly recommended by my bookish Twitter Friends,  Clarity by Kim Harrington and Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler, and my new guilty pleasure The Seven Deadly Sins books by Robin Wasserman—which I’ve been meaning to check out for a while and finally just went out and bought all 7 after reading the manuscript of Robin’s Spring 2012 novel The Book of Blood and Shadow, which is just so very good!

With a stack of books like this, I might not mind if we get a couple of rainy days next week.

What are your weekend plans? Do they include any books you’d like to recommend for our readers? And if you have any patriotic favorites, please share those here as well.

* photo via, originally found here

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 12:33 pm

    Since my little one made his appearance a little less than two years ago, I’ve had less time for reading. I will be setting aside some time to read Feed (Mira Grant) and The Curse of the Wendigo (Rick Yancey), though! If the books I ordered reach me in time, I’ll plow through the second Bad Girls Don’t Die book before anything else. 😉

    If nothing else, there’s always my dog-walking time for reading! Happy reading to y’all!

Trackbacks

  1. Waking Up in Berkeley « Such Small Steps

Leave a Reply

