Skip to content

Another Summer Book Launch Party: Buglette, the Messy Sleeper by Bethanie Murguia

June 8, 2011

Today Dandy and her boys take us inside the launch party for the release of author/illustrator Bethanie Murguia’s adorable new picture book, Buglette,  the Messy Sleeper (available now).

One of my favorite things about my job is meeting the authors and seeing them connect directly with their readers.  It never gets old.  This weekend I took the boys over to Book Passage in Corte Madera for the Buglette the messy sleeper launch party.  It was one of my favorites on the summer list so I was especially excited to meet Bethanie who is new to our list.

All sleepers will adore Buglette—a tidy little bug by day, a messy little sleeper at night.  I love the message of being true to yourself & dreaming BIG!

Here is Bethanie with her adorable daughters:

No detail was spared:

Yummy ladybug cupcakes:

Here are two satisfied customers:

Bethanie did a great job speaking to all the different ages in the crowd.  She spoke for a bit about the process and showed some artwork and stories from her childhood.  You were able to see that this has been a journey that didn’t start last week.  Then she had the children come sit on leaves up front for a reading.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deanna permalink
    June 10, 2011 12:32 pm

    Who are those adorable boys???

  2. annemarie O'Brien permalink
    June 11, 2011 5:07 pm

    I wish I had known! Corte Madera is not far from home. I would have come and supported a fellow author from Randomhouse. Do you know about Sharon Levin’s list serv that announces author readings and anything related to children’s books in the SF bay area? If not, you should get on it so you can announce the next one. Feel free to contact me through my editor, Erin Clarke at Knopf and I’d be happy to share. Or look for me on facebook. Sounds like the event was lots of fun!!!
    Annemarie O’Brien
    Piedmont

Leave a Reply

