Skip to content

The Penderwicks Are Back!

May 10, 2011
 

Today is the official on-sale date of The Penderwicks at Point Mouette and it’s a thrill for all of us to be able to visit with this lovely, quirky family once again. To celebrate this fabulous event we’ve invited “Penderwicks” author Jeanne Birdsall to be our Guest Blogger – we know you’ll want to get your hands on a copy of this book asap but first, spend some time with with us and see what inspires this talented writer.

In the third Penderwicks book, The Penderwicks at Point Mouette, I sent the three younger sisters to the ocean for two weeks with their Aunt Claire. I considered Cape Cod as a destination, but my sense of the Cape is tied up with memories of uncomfortable visits with boyfriends—two different ones—back in my youth. Hitchhiking was involved in both cases, and sleeping bags, large bugs, and not enough food. Ah, the vagabond life of the sixties. I never was cut out for it. Maine, on the other hand, reminds me of my Great-Aunt Jane, who would bring me back presents from Boothbay Harbor, like One Morning in Maine and a pillow stuffed with pine needles and MAINE in green letters on top. Much better memories. So the Penderwicks went to Maine, giving me an excuse to visit for research—five times!—making sure I’d got the color of the sky just right, and the smell of the air and the grit of the sand. I hope I managed and that Great-Aunt Jane (for whom, after all, I named Jane Penderwick) would recognize her Maine in my descriptions.  

 Several new characters are introduced in this book. One of them is Hoover the dog, who is based on my husband’s and my dog, a Boston Terrier named Cagney. (He’s named after Cagney the gardener in the first Penderwicks book, not the other way around.) 

Hoover is such a maniac that he makes Hound Penderwick look like a beautifully trained show dog. This was also once true of Cagney. He’s calmer now, not because we’ve become better at handling him, but because he’s older and finds tricking us too easy to bother with. My husband will protest at this, and say that we’ve worked hard to train Cagney, and that he was never really that bad anyway. And then I’ll say, tell that to the cats whose tails he bit, and why is he still trying to kill the clock radio just for fun? 

The fourth Penderwick book is now rattling around in my brain. I can give a few hints. It will take place back home again on Gardam Street, about five and a half years after the end of the third book. The three older sisters will be teenagers, as will Tommy Geiger. Tommy’s older brother Nick will be home on leave from Afghanistan, where he’s stationed with the army.

My own dear nephew, a second lieutenant with the 101st Airborne, is helping me with the research. And that’s all I can say. It’s bad luck to give away too much too soon, a lesson Jane Penderwick may finally have learned in the third book. Or not. It’s always hard to know with Jane.                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many thanks to Jeanne Birdsall for joining us today. If you love the Penderwicks as much as we do, please share this post and leave a comment below to let us know.

 

63 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 8:19 am

    I cant wait to add this one to my collection. It is always so comforting to hang out with The Penderwicks!

  2. thor27 permalink
    May 10, 2011 11:00 am

    Keep on writing gal you’re doing good. Writing isn’t as easy as most think. I just finished a cookbook that I’m gonna revise and improve in the next edition it’s a learning curve. Come visit http://thor27.wordpress.com later gal !!!

  3. May 10, 2011 4:05 pm

    I don’t know these. I’ll have to check them out!

  4. Biggest Fan permalink
    May 23, 2011 9:04 pm

    I’ve read all of your books and am heading to the book store to get the new one. You are my 2nd favorite author in the whole world you get me exited to read. Your the best! Write back soon your number 1 fan!

  5. May 29, 2011 6:58 am

    Thank you thank you thank you. The Big Sister swallowed the first Penderwick’s whole –we’ve been on the hunt for books for our Summer Reading and Story Program. Penderwicks will be on The Big Sister’s list!

    I imagine when she wakes this morning the first thing she will do is grab the second one –thankfully we have it on our Library bookshelf (a shelf for the dozens of books we take out each week.)

    We are working on a list of ways to send letters real (put a stamp on it and wait letters) to authors — does Jeanne have a mailing address that we could add to our list of authors? Please email me info@booksforwallsproject.org if it is a private address I can just share it with the big sister who really wants to write Jeanne ans thank her!)

    Looking forward to more!!

  6. Emily permalink
    June 4, 2011 5:41 pm

    I still haven’t gotten the third Penderwicks book, though it’s killing me! I just have no money whatsoever (let’s just say that my “piggy bank” is not too well guarded) BUT! Hopefully I will get it for my birthday next week, which I am praying will happen.
    Let me just tell you that it is you who inspired me to start writing, and now I can’t stop. When I first read your book I thought it was so cool to write, and so I started. Three years later, I’m still doing it.
    Your idea for the fourth book sounds so interesting, I don’t think I can wait another three years.
    The Penderwicks are a family I wish was very much my own, they’re just so quirky and absolutely loveable. I will often just grab one of your books and read it, smiling to myself as I escape in your magical wisps of words. I think I’ve read the series about five times. Whenever I come out of the library with one of the books my mom will say “Oh! The Penderwicks again?”
    Just….thank you for writing these books. Thank you 🙂

    • September 29, 2012 8:57 pm

      Why don’t you hust get the books you want out of the library?

  7. D W permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:36 pm

    Why must the fourth book take place so many years after?! I love the first three, and I think that there should be just one more book about them when they are still kids…But since you are the author, you probably know best.

    • Penina Meier-Silverman permalink
      June 18, 2011 1:00 pm

      I agree, but the fourth should be interesting.

  8. Penina Meier-Silverman permalink
    June 18, 2011 12:59 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Penderiwck books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My family and I always read them on vacation in the car. We couldn’t belive we had missed the third one! We are sooooooooooooooo excited for this! And it’s just in time for this summer’s vacation 🙂

  9. MayBelle permalink
    August 21, 2011 6:37 pm

    I can’t wait for the fourth book, but it’s kind of making me nervous that it’s five and a half years later!

    Oh, and Jeffrey and Skye should be together….

    • LovestoRead permalink
      March 18, 2012 8:31 pm

      I one hundred percent agree!

    • Katie Dann permalink
      August 10, 2012 5:48 pm

      Yes, I knew Jeffrey and Skye would be an item as soon as they met in book 1. The fact that so much time will have elapsed between books is a little frightening though…

      • Penderwickgurl permalink
        August 27, 2012 2:14 pm

        Is Jeffery going to be in the third. I really hope so.

    • September 29, 2012 8:58 pm

      I sooooo hope Jeffery will be in the 4th book. Oh, him and Skye are so cute together!

  10. Rebecca Hinrichs permalink
    November 3, 2011 4:22 pm

    Do u know when Jeanne Birdsall will come out with a new book? Anyone?

  11. Rebecca Hinrichs permalink
    November 3, 2011 4:23 pm

    Jeffery and Skye would be great together!

  12. vivian kathman permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:07 pm

    I once convinced myself in Feb. 2010 that I would keep reading the first two books over and over again till May 2011! Sadly I gave up after three days and at least three readovers of each book.Obsessive right? But I haveta agree with the above bloggers. Why cant there be another book about when they were kids? And why five and a half years? Aaaaaaaannnnnnnnddddd why do I have to wait three years for this! I want to see if Rosalind and Tommy stay together and if Batty becomes a musicuian and if Jane becomes an author and if Jefferey and Skye get together since now they are teens and well what happens to everbody! Well anyway I love the books mrs. Birdall and will be really sad when they are done. speaking of done…

    • Penderwicks Fan permalink
      March 18, 2012 8:47 pm

      I have to agree, I NEED to know what happens with everyone: Jane and her books, Batty and her piano, Rosalind and her Tommy, Jeffery and his new-found dad, and, most important, Skye and Jeffery as a couple.

  13. Skylar permalink
    December 3, 2011 11:11 pm

    I can’t wait for the forth Penderwicks book! They are my favorite books ever! I also have three younger sisters just like the Penderwicks who are 12, 11, and 5 and a huge dog too although he is a golden retriever instead of black like Hound.

  14. LovestoRead permalink
    March 18, 2012 8:42 pm

    I love the Penderwicks whenever I have nothing to read I always pick the up. My favorite is the third because like a lot of people my favorite character is Skye and she is the OAP in the third, making the book mostly about her and her struggles. I wish that I had a family like them with three sisters. Sadly, I only have one and she is the same age (twin). I am so grateful that my friend introduced me to the series a few years ago! I totally agree that Skye and Jeffery should be together! Please hurry with the 4th one, I can’t wait that long! Also, will there be a 5th?

    One more thing, if there is ever a movie for the Penderwicks, cast me in it! Although I look more like the other three sisters (brown wavy hair, brown eyes) I am most like Skye (play soccer; work hard in school and am a star student). I could dye my hair blond and get blue contacts. Just consider it ok?

  15. Penderwicks!!! permalink
    March 18, 2012 8:52 pm

    I disagree with all the above comments about there being another book about them as kids because I think it will be interesting to follow them as teenagers and, in Batty’s case, a pre-teen. It’s a great idea! Keep on writing!

  16. Mary Elizabeth permalink
    March 22, 2012 8:39 pm

    I love, love, love the Penderwicks! They’re my favorite books to read, and I’m counting the days till the fourth one comes out! 😀

  17. Isobel permalink
    April 8, 2012 11:09 am

    OH MY GODS!!!! I love your books. ThePenderwicks series is one of those that I can read over and over again, and still be excited for what is going to happen next. I have read them too many times to count. I justfinished re-reading the third. I cried, naturally. My friends and I are in agony waiting for your fourth book! My stomach hurts just knowing we have to wait another two years! I was really shocked to find the next book will be so far in the future. But it’s okay, because now Skye and Jeffery can be together!!! I squirm with glee when I come across hints of that happening!!! I can’t wait for your next book!!!

  18. Number 1 Fan permalink
    April 13, 2012 5:48 pm

    Out of all the books I’ve ever read, like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games, The Penderwicks is my favorite. I devoured all three of the books, and read them each two times — despite the fact I read the second one three times. When I saw that it was going to be five years later, my stomach gave a huge jolt. Batty will be 10, Jane 16, Skye 17, and Rosalind, all ready an adult? Man! I can’t wait to read it and see how much you can put in another book on Gardam Street. I’m just a little worried that Jane would have stopped her Sabrina Starr books. And yes, Skye and Jeffrey! I know you’re writing a fifth, and I know I have to wait until I’m fifteen for that one, but I hope that doesn’t skip more time! But I know that whatever happens it’s still going to be excellent — for all your books are to die for!

  19. Hannah permalink
    April 14, 2012 8:03 am

    Nick Geiger is going to Afghanistan? That’s going to be very interesting. And the other Nick — not in your book — is going to Afghanistan in real life. Your nephew, right? I bet he’ll bring a football along with him!

    It skips five and a half years! Now the older ones are almost adults. That’s also going to be very exciting. Hound is also older so maybe he’s calmed down a little by getting older. I can’t wait to see if Jeffrey and Alec are really close now, or if they somehow live together. And if Batty will become a musician, and if Jane kept up her Sabrina Starr books, and if Skye and JEffrey get together and if she keeps up soccer. I don’t think I can wait two years. I’m ten now and I’ll have until I’m twelve! Well, between ages ten and twelve, I’m going to try to read each Penderwicks book another ten times. Because I really can’t live without any Penderwicks!!

  20. Nina permalink
    May 29, 2012 2:44 pm

    I love the Pendericks so much! Its a great series and i am so excited for the fourth book to come out!!!! I have one question though.. i want to know what the penderwicks look like i mean there face. Cuz in the first book the scene where Rosalind falls down in the pond and Cagney and Kathleen (his girlfriend) help her and stuff Kathleen says shes pretty.. I wanted to know what Rosalind and all the sisters look like because im very curious!! keep writing UR AMAZING and one of my fave authors!!

    • June 12, 2012 9:39 pm

      Nicole

      I am nine in 2012. I CAN NOT WAIT TWO WHOLE YEARS. I think Skye and Jeffery might kiss in the fourth book because of their relationship in the third. I kind of think Birdsall will put Batty and Jeffrey together. I wish Batty would stay the baby of the penderwicks. I really do not want any of them to be teenagers but now they can date. Yippe! Go Birdsall!

  21. Elaine permalink
    June 25, 2012 9:03 pm

    I have had a lifelong devotion of children’s literature, and The Penderwicks rank among my favorites. Please keep writing more.
    And thank you very much for waiting until you were in your 40s to write. You have inspired me (age 43).

  22. Penderwickgurl permalink
    July 11, 2012 9:46 am

    The three older girls seem to be little to old in the 4th book in my opinion. I agree about Skye and Jeffery should be together, but I think that should happen in the 5th book ( please make a 5th book. ) PLEASE make a movie I’d really like to see one of my favorite books come to life.
    P.S. If U make a movie I look totally like Jane. Also my friend is totally good for Skye!

  23. Katie Dann permalink
    August 10, 2012 5:52 pm

    Couldn’t the age jump have been a bit less drastic? Like… 3 years? I’m so afraid we’ll have missed SOOOO much stuff.

    • Karalynn permalink
      November 4, 2012 3:12 pm

      same. i want to read about them growing up

  24. Skyes identical twin with brown hair and brown eyes permalink
    August 15, 2012 6:06 pm

    I love all the books. When does the 4th book come out?
    If they make a movie I am SOOOO much like Skye.
    My sister’s like Jane and my other sister is like Batty. But only a little
    Oh yeah my brothers like Jeffrey

  25. Penderwickgurl permalink
    August 16, 2012 5:12 pm

    Oh I can’t wait!!!!!! It’s killing me. Please come out with the new book!!!!!!!!!! I might kick myself if it doesn’t come out soon.

  26. Karalynn permalink
    November 4, 2012 3:11 pm

    please make skye and jeffery date. i think they would be great together

  27. Nicole permalink
    November 11, 2012 5:39 pm

    I am going to die if the next book does not come out soon. I fainted when I realized I would have to wait 1 year and six months for the next book to come out. i am also furious with myself. I had discovered the Penderwicks from my mom. Then, on my birthday she bought me the other two. I read both of them in three days. I REALLY should have waited. Oh, and my favorite character is Rosalind because of her calm way of handling everything. My family says I’m like Skye though. Man, I really changed since I last commented.
    I just thought of something. Who said Jeffrey would fall in love at all, let alone with one of the Penderwicks. I have nothing against love, [or maybe I do] but why are people so obsessed with dating? Simply crazy. Anyway, Jeanne Birdsall, PLEASE keep writing!

  28. awesome permalink
    November 18, 2012 4:35 pm

    I love the Penderwicks! I’m really surprised that the 4th takes place so many years after the third!! I hope Hound won’t die in the 5th!

  29. Kelly permalink
    November 20, 2012 4:54 pm

    If hound dies in the 5th I’ll die! But Nick going to Afghanistan sounds interesting!
    But still 5 and a half years later! Wow! I liked them as kids. What about Sabrina Starr or Mick Hart for Jane? What if she grew out of that stuff? And Batty what are going to be her
    hobbies if she’s so much older.

  30. Jenny permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:56 am

    The Penderwicks ROCK!!!!!!! If there’s a movie I’m Jane.

    • Nicole permalink
      December 3, 2012 10:33 pm

      Hound probably will die, sadly. I wonder how Batty would take it. Though, since she’s older she probably calls herself Elizabeth. And NO acting for me. Once, I was in a play, and I fell right off the stage.So NO acting. And I really think there will be a movie. Maybe.

    • Pyper permalink
      February 3, 2013 7:44 pm

      YES!! I wanna be Jane too!! They HAVE to make a movie!!!! I was sooooo sad to hear that the 4th is coming in 2014-can’t wait THAT long!! Well, anyways, keep up the good work, go Jeanne Birdsall!!!😃

  31. Sasha permalink
    December 29, 2012 8:20 pm

    I cant wait for the fourth book to come out, but i really think it should be only a few years ahead so we dont miss their childhood. I think that maybe skye and jeffery should date in a later book. U would really need a book in between the younger years and older ones to make a smaller jump from the growing up. I really lv ur books and will always read them, but ull lose ur younger readers… Ur book will go from any age to teens. Hope u take my feedback and i lv ur books!

    • Lucy permalink
      June 8, 2013 11:54 am

      Yes, I’ve been looking for this comment! Skye and Jeffrey should get together in the last book, if they do get together, not in the fourth book. Personally, I feel that seventeen is still too young for Skye to want to date anyone, considering her personality.

      In response to earlier comments, I don’t really like the idea of Batty and Jeffrey together, because I see their relationship as a brother-sister one.

  32. Julia permalink
    December 29, 2012 8:26 pm

    Hound doesnt hav to die. Sounds like way to many changes to me.

  33. Anna permalink
    January 21, 2013 8:43 pm

    I love the Penderwicks! The rest of you are crazy to say that skye and jeffrey should date because skye isn’t the dating type, remember? they should just be friends because it would be bad if they broke up. No one mentioned Iantha and Ben. I can’t wait to see what that will look like with Ben and Batty only a few years apart, probably fighting like normal siblings.

    • Jenny permalink
      January 26, 2013 7:28 pm

      I have to agree! Skye really isn’t the dating type. I think Batty and Ben will be more like friends than siblings.

  34. Cathy W. permalink
    January 26, 2013 7:32 pm

    Totally!

  35. Zita permalink
    February 11, 2013 2:21 pm

    First, I hate to disappoint anyone, but Hound probably will die in the fourth book, or already be dead. Also, I’m excited about Ben. He will be something like 7 or 8 years old. Interesting! I’m ten now, so I’ll be 14 when th series ends. I’m really getting tired of rereading the old Penderwick books, so I try to read fanfiction sometimes. But, it’s just not very realistic. Almost all of them are about Skye in love with Jeffrey. I really agree with Anna about Skye and Jeffrey [probably because people think I’m like Skye, I actually fell off my roof once] and how they probably won’t date, because SKYE ISN’T A DATING TYPE! But I think Ben and Batty will be close. And what’s odd, is how everyone who says their like Skye, wants Skye and Jeffrey to be a couple, and is their favorite character. Just an observation. Oh, and about one year and 3 months until the fourth book comes out! I’m excited. So…. go Birdsall?

  36. Lily Samtha permalink
    February 15, 2013 6:19 pm

    I love the Penderwicks!!!!! I really think it’s to big of a jump in age! But if there’s love in it, it just won’t feel like the Penderwicks. I’m sooo like Jane! I write books and everything!!!!
    And I love acting so if there’s a movie I’m so going to addition.

  37. lizzy permalink
    April 17, 2013 7:42 pm

    The Penderwicks are awesome. I was shocked to hear about the time change. Where is the setting going to be in the 5th maybe Gardam Street or Arundel or Maine or somewhere new. I’m so excited go Birdsall!!!!

  38. Hallyn permalink
    May 2, 2013 8:31 pm

    I love, love, love, love, LOVE these books! I just now found out that there’s a 3rd and 4th, but I read the 1st one 2 or three times! They should realy make a movie of them! I’d love to play Roslind if they did. I have wavy brown hair and am an experienced oldest sister (I have 2 sisters, and the younger one is a lot like Batty… minus the shyness!) And for some reason, I always imagine Josh Hutcherson as Cagney, go figure! Anyway, can’t wait to read the 3rd and 4th books! =^D

  39. alexandra m. permalink
    September 14, 2013 12:49 pm

    I LOVE the Penderwicks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Nicole permalink
      November 7, 2013 6:34 pm

      In about 6 months the fourth book comes out. I can’t wait to see Batty. That’s it.

  40. Lydia D. permalink
    May 8, 2014 6:47 pm

    There has to be a movie!!!! But I have soooo many questions like what time of year will it be placed summer, fall, spring, or winter? Will Jeffery be in the 4th? And if he is, will his father be in it too?

  41. Sophia permalink
    April 10, 2015 1:52 pm

    The fourth book is out!! It is called The Penderwicks in Spring!! It is really good!! I can’t wait for the fifth!!

  42. Alice Chase permalink
    April 16, 2015 7:39 pm

    I LOVE the Penderwicks!!!! I REALLY want a movie to come out. I SUPPORT SKEFFREY!!!
    I need the fifth!!!!!!!!!!!! KK! Bye everyone!

  43. Mackenzie permalink
    May 28, 2015 5:23 pm

    Who else is DYING for the fifth?!?!?!?! I need a Penderwicks movie for my life to be complete!!!! I would audition for Jane or Rosalind. I really think that Skye and Jeffrey are meant to be together. Please hurry with the fifth Jeanne Birdsall!!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Penderwicks at Point Mouette « Titcomb's Bookshop's Blog
  2. “The Wait Is Over!” New in Paperback in October « Random Acts of Reading
  3. “The Wait Is Over!” New in Paperback in October « Random Acts of Reading
  4. 2011: A Blogging Year in Review « Random Acts of Reading
  5. an explanation | THE PENDERWICK PROJECT
  6. 5 Reasons You Should Read This Book: The Penderwicks « ohblessyourheart

Leave a Reply

