Skip to content

How I Got Published: A Guest Post by Author Rose Cooper

April 25, 2011

Today, we are happy to welcome middle grade author Rose Cooper to our blog! Rose has written the delightful Gossip from the Girls’ Room about a sixth-grade girl named Sofia who is desperate to fit in with the cool kids at her school. To do so, Sofia starts a blog where she records everything that she overhears the popular girls saying. But will her blog make her cool or will it hurt and alienate the kids she is trying to befriend? This charming and hilarious book is written as an illustrated journal and is perfect for young tweens interested in a Wimpy Kid-style read. If you enjoy this, you won’t want to miss Rumors from the Boys’ Room, out this October.

Written as a journal with illustrations and asides, this humorous take on trying to fit in will find wide appeal. Hand this to female fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, and they’ll soon start anticipating Sophia’s next adventure.

-Shauna Yusko, Booklist

 

I proclaimed my career as a future author in 6th grade. I just never thought it would take me two decades to get there. Writing a book was supposed to be so simple. I mean, Beverley Clearly made it look really easy. How hard could it be?  I received my first rejection before I was even a teen, before I even knew what a query was. Yep, I sent my full manuscripts straight to publishing houses (most of the time never getting a response) and declaring myself as my own agent.  And Random House was one of those publishers (shhh, don’t tell my editor!)  I couldn’t figure out why someone wouldn’t  want to publish an unsolicited manuscript, typed out on an old typewriter, single spaced. After all, I used bottles of white out trying to make it look very presentable.

Before finally landing my wonderful agent, I spent six years querying on over ten completed manuscripts, and received over 600 rejections. For once, my stubbornness and determination paid off.  I got the idea for GOSSIP FROM THE GIRLS’S ROOM: A Blogtastic! Novel and completed it in two weeks. I queried the agent on the very top of my list-Rosemary Stimola-and she replied back within minutes.  After several emails, she signed me and eight weeks later we got the deal with Random House.

Being published is everything I dreamt it would be. With the second book in the series, RUMORS FROM THE BOYS ROOM, due out Oct. 11, 2011, I’m determined more than ever to keep writing. Rejection and disappointment don’t go away just because you’re published (chocolate can help with this!). If anything, it makes you a stronger person and a better writer.

And the best part about being a children’s author and illustrator? Getting emails from kids who say they are inspired from you.  That is the BEST feeling in the world.

If you would like to read more about Gossip from the Girls’ Room, please visit Rose Cooper’s other blog tour stops. You can also follow Rose on Twitter @RoseCooper.

Monday, April 18  The Misadventures in Candyland

Tuesday, April 19  The Quintessentially Questionable Query Experiment

Wednesday, April 20  Rambles & Randomness

Thursday, April 21  Unedited

Friday, April 22  Talli Roland

Saturday, April 23  Booking Mama

Tuesday, April 26  Amie Borst

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 2:06 pm

    I am excited to read this. Fun post on getting published. Congratulations that it finally happened!

  2. May 8, 2011 5:03 pm

    Fantastic, helpful post!

Leave a Reply

