Skip to content

Confessions of a (Hungry) Audio Addict

April 13, 2011
by

In my early teens my Mom made it mandatory that my brother and I each cook dinner once a week.  We could make whatever we wanted, we just had to get her a list of ingredients and she would pick them up for us.  At the time I HATED cooking and would often microwave some spaghetti sauce, still in the jar, and cook some pasta while a loaf of frozen garlic bread cooked in the oven.  Nothing fancy, I just wanted to get it over with!  My brother, on the other hand, was hand making calzones with customized ingredients and trying out new recipes weekly.  No one ever thought I would turn into a cook, but I’ve surprised them all!  My brother still cooks better than most, but if we were challenged to a cook-off I know I would easily claim victory!

My cooking obsession has lead to my local food obsession has lead to my food writing obsession.  (it’s a vicious calorie filled cycle!)  I recently finished listening to Gabrielle Hamilton’s Blood, Bones and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef and now I am yearning for more food filled stories.  Gabrielle recorded the audio herself and you can feel how personal the stories are in her voice.  Her love of food is obvious to the reader, but not to her as she tries to find her voice among the herd.  But don’t let me lead you astray!  This isn’t just a book about food and cooking, it’s also a book about family, love, self and respect.  I couldn’t help but compare Gabrielle to the strong women in my life as she told stories about making her way in a male dominated field, or when she discusses balancing raising children with running a successful restaurant. 

Next time I am in NYC I will be making a reservation at Prune, Gabrielle’s restaurant.  I’m sure the food is wonderful, but even better would be catching a glimpse of her working behind the line.  Already a chef that has made her mark in the food world, now a New York Times Bestselling author……what will she do next!?!?!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela K Sherrill permalink
    April 13, 2011 9:53 am

    New commuting, so I greatly appreciate audiobook recommendations. I really think the reader can make or break a title in this format, so I’m always trepidatious when selecting my next commute companion.

    Thanks for the reccomendation!

    • Nic permalink
      April 13, 2011 10:59 am

      I agree! A not-so-great reader can ruin a good book! You can sample a lot of audio online, its never quite long enough to know 100%, but it helps a little.

  2. April 13, 2011 10:48 am

    Wow, this sounds fabulous to me! Also, your mom sounds like one smart cookie.

    • Nic permalink
      April 13, 2011 11:00 am

      She is a super smart cookie! I am a lucky lady to have such an awesome Mom.

  3. April 14, 2011 12:33 pm

    Nice review – even though I’m not currently much of a cook , my daughter’s influence is starting to rub off (talk about smart cookies!). Maybe I need to pick this up…Nic’s Mom
    *For the record, NO ONE would have believed she’d be a gourmet cook one day based on those lovely spaghetti dinners!!!

Trackbacks

  1. What I’m Reading, and a Poor Substitute for a Trip « Such Small Steps

Leave a Reply

