Skip to content

Get to Know a Rep: Nic

March 23, 2011

We decided it would be fun to “reintroduce” ourselves to you, so we will be running “Get to Know a Rep” posts the next few weeks to give our readers a little more information on the people writing this blog! Monday, we featured Deanna. Today, get to know Nic better, and we will end this week with Erin. Hope you enjoy this! As always, if you have more questions for us, please leave them in the comment section and we’ll respond there.

Nic with her mom and uncle at the 3 Day Breast Cancer Walk

 1. What is your favorite genre to read for fun? 

It changes often, but lately I am really into Food Writing!  I’m currently listening to Blood, Bones and Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton.

2. What was a job you’ve had that our readers would find surprising? 

I was an assistant manager for the Original Cookie Company one summer while home from college.  I don’t think I ate anything but white chocolate macadamia cookies until I went back to college!

3. What do you like to do when you’re not working? 

 Hike, Camp, Run, Visit Microbreweries, Haunt Farmers Markets, Knit.

4. Do you have a favorite memory of meeting or working with an author? 

I don’t know if I would call it a favorite memory, but it’s a vivid one!  Libba Bray made me confess to David Levithan that I have a literary crush on him.  He was very gracious, I blushed like crazy, and I will never tell Libba Bray anything ever again.

5. What’s your favorite childhood bookstore? 

We didn’t have a bookstore in the town I grew up in.  But we had a public library!  We went to the library every weekend and checked out all the books we would need for the week.  I always wanted to check out Little Critter – Just Me and My Dad.  They had a version that came with a tape and I LOVED it!  My Mom had to limit the number of times I could get it per month, otherwise I would have worn the tape out!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 11:30 am

    I’ve just returned to my hometown. One of the first things I did was head to my childhood library. So many wonderful memories there, from reading away summer days, carrying gobs of books home, and graduating to the adult section via Agatha Christie.

  2. March 23, 2011 12:47 pm

    That’s my girl!!! 🙂

  3. March 23, 2011 12:54 pm

    So nice to meet you 🙂

    I loved going to the library as a child, getting lost in the stacks for hours at a time. I loved the library so much that it is where I had my first job.

  4. Angela K Sherrill permalink
    March 23, 2011 4:33 pm

    I can still sing that song from the Mercer Mayer Little Critter Fisher Price Record book . . .

    Just me and my Dad,
    What a good time we had,
    We went out the woods,
    and it really felt good.
    Just my dad and me,
    we’re good company,
    what a wonderful, fun time we had
    just me and my dad.

    I think you and I would get along well, Nic.

    • Nic permalink
      March 24, 2011 7:05 pm

      Your comment just made me sing! I still know the song too. 🙂 Now I’m wondering if I can find the recording anywhere…..

Trackbacks

  1. Get to Know a Rep: Erin « Random Acts of Reading
  2. Get to Know a Rep: Dandy « Random Acts of Reading
  3. Get to know a rep: KATE « Random Acts of Reading
  4. Get to know a Rep: Sarah N. « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

