Skip to content

A Bookish Birthday

March 8, 2011

It’s birthday season in our house! I start the year with a February birthday and the twins are next, turning 4 in early March. I love birthdays and have passed the excitement on to my kids to be best of my abilities. Luckily, the Random House list is pretty rich with birthday-themed books. When you have Dr. Seuss’s Happy Birthday to You, what more do you need? Well, we’re publishing a book this spring that I think hits the nail on the head for a certain demographic. It just so happens that I live with two people in that age group, so I guess you could say it struck a nerve.

The Best Birthday Party Ever is about a girl who takes enormous pleasure in planning her birthday party. This party won’t just be the run-of-the-mill-pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey-hit-the-piñata party. This party will have 9000 balloons, a 17 layer cake, a real castle (forget about those lame bouncy ones), a ferris wheel and so much more. Each page, while counting down the exact days, hours and minutes to her birthday, adds to the extravagant plans for her special day. While it may seem far-fetched, I found over the last several months that I have given birth to living proof that it’s not. Ruby talks about her birthday almost every day and makes fantastic plans. As far as counting the days, that’s a little beyond her four-year-old capabilities. Many of her party-planning speeches begin with “yesterday, when it’s my birthday”….yeah, her sense of time isn’t quite there yet. Her twin brother, however, doesn’t seem to share her obsession. In fact, recently while discussing the guest list of their party he asked us if he was invited. Well, yes. For the millionth time, you guys have the same birthday (and your party will indeed be a run-of-the-mill-pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey-hit-the-piñata party).

Other favorites in our birthday book collection are two board books from Sandra Boynton. Happy Birthday, Little Pookie is about the perfect birthday, while The Birthday Monsters is about a less than perfect birthday. They are equally adorable! We’re also big fans of the Birthday Bugs from David Carter’s irresistible line of bug-themed pop-ups. Books not in our library but perfect for the occasion include The Berenstain Bears and Too Much Birthday giving its usual lesson-oriented perspective, Elmo’s Birthday Party for the 1-2 year olds in your life and Happy Birthday, Thomas for the boy who just can’t get enough of the Cheeky Little Engine.

For the slightly older reader (5-8) A Flying Birthday Cake from the Marvin Redpost series and Alvin Ho: Allergic to Birthdays are perfect reads.

This year I will actually be at sales conference for the twins’ birthday (look for a day-in-the-life sales conference expose that will blow the lid off the secret happenings), so we’ll be celebrating about three times to make up for my absence. Truthfully I think I care way more than they do, but it gives me a great opportunity to make extravagant birthday plans…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:44 am

    Great post! I have twins that turn 3 this month! I am going to have to get some of these books you mentioned. And yes, every day is one of my girls’ birthdays 🙂

  2. March 9, 2011 11:03 am

    And for birthday party planning dinosaur lovers, don’t forget DEAR TYRANNOSAURUS REX (978-0-375-85608-2) by Lisa McClatchy, illustrated by John Manders. Here’s another outrageous birthday party, much like The Best Birthday Party Ever, where a girl invites her favorite dinosaur, and he actually comes!

  3. Erin permalink
    March 10, 2011 12:57 pm

    Heidi, thanks for adding that in! There are so many adorable birthday-themed books that would make perfect gifts. I try to always give books as presents- what better gift than the love of reading?

  4. Nic permalink
    March 10, 2011 1:51 pm

    Deanna – I love the picture of the twins!

    The first Nancy Drew book I ever read was a birthday present…..I read every book in that series as quickly as I could! And now I have a purse made from the cover of The Hidden Staircase.

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Picture Books We Love: A Sneak Peek! « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

