Skip to content

Confessions of a (Slacker) Audio Addict

January 21, 2011
by

Today, Nic shares some great audio book recommendations with us. If you love audio, be sure to check out her previous recommendations as well.  And please share your favorite audio books in the comments section for a chance to win a copy of the audio version of Incarceron by Catherine Fisher!

I hadn’t been listening to many books on CD, until December.  In December I learned to knit, and I can’t stop knitting!  I knit constantly, while watching the NFL Playoffs, riding in the car, and even at a soccer game.  The only problem with this is that my hands aren’t free to read a book!  Which is why I started listening to audio again……

Countdown, by Deborah Wiles  

 Booksellers have been talking about this book since the galleys arrived in stores.  I have wanted to read it since the booksellers started talking about it.  I even got my hands on a finished copy, but haven’t taken it off the shelf.  When Listening Library announced that they were producing the audio version I knew I had been saved!  I would FINALLY get around to “reading” this book. 

The booksellers were right (as they usually are) this book is captivating.  Set in the DC area in 1962 during the Cuban Missile Crisis you would expect this to be a depressing book.  And it has its moments!  (I actually had to turn it off a couple of times and find a cheesy pop song to break the somber mood.)  I was worried about how the newspaper clippings, advertisements, and pamphlets would be worked into an audio.  I should have known better!  The folks at Listening Library know what they are doing!  I loved how the clippings and ads were woven into the story, just like the printed version.  Overall I found the narrator’s voice a little whiny, but she is supposed to be a twelve-year-old, so that was quickly forgiven.  (You can listen to an excerpt here.)  This book will make you think, it will spark conversation and it will stick with you long after you’ve put it down.

Reckless, by Cornelia Funke  

Confession:  I’ve never read a Cornelia Funke book.  But now I can say I’ve listened to one!  I have always loved fairy tales, not the princess stories, but the dark creepy troll stories.  So when I popped this into the CD player and it started out dark and creepy I knew I was listening to the right book.  The depth of fear is palpable, fear of the unknown and fear of the creepy critters that inhabit Mirrorworld.  Plus the fear of being turned into a Goyl.  At times a bit confusing (or maybe I wasn’t paying attention) but I loved the narrator, Elliot Hill, and have been meaning to find out what else he has done.  (You can listen to an excerpt here.) The first of a series, Cornelia definitely leaves you wanting to find out more.  And I will be back, as long as Elliot Hill continues to narrate!

Skinny Dip, by Carl Hiaasen  

Sarah N. suggested I listen to this book, and I am so glad she did!  I drove to Michigan this Christmas and this was the perfect length to get me across Ohio with my sanity intact.  I love Hiaasen’s children’s books, but I haven’t ever picked up one of his adult titles.  I have been missing out!  He has a wicked sense of humor, this is definitely not a family friendly audio book!  Barry Bostwick is the reader, he handles the motley cast of characters perfectly.  (You can listen to an excerpt here.)  I laughed out loud more times than I can count, and even considered listening to it again during the trip back to Maryland.  If you have a daily commute that involves traffic and frustration this is the book to relieve some of your stress.

I have Sapphique, the sequel to Incarceron to listen to next.  Does anyone have any other suggestions for me?  Leave a comment below……..I have an audio copy of Incarceron that I will send out to a commenter.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Deanna permalink
    January 21, 2011 10:18 am

    I always recommend these:
    To Kill a Mockingbird read by Sissy Spacek
    Harry Potter – doesn’t matter if you’ve read ’em, listening to them is a whole new experience!
    Golden Compass & series from Pullman. He narrates and it’s fully cast. Really done brilliantly.
    And the Abhorsen trilogy from Garth Nix.

  2. January 21, 2011 10:30 am

    Oh, how I loved Countdown – I can’t wait for the next book in the series. David Sedaris is always good on audio. One that you must listen to is Lizzy Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt – I laughed and cried while I listened and still think about that book.

  3. Bina permalink
    January 27, 2011 2:13 pm

    A couple I loved were Alchemy and Meggy Swann by Karen Cushman–wonderful narration of this lively medieval tale.
    I particularly adored One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia. The narration really made the wonderful characters come to life even more that the extraordinary novel did….Surely did… Enjoy both!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Confessions of a (Slacker) Audio Addict « Random Acts of Reading -- Topsy.com
  2. The Winner of Our Audio Book Giveaway! « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

