Skip to content

Five Reasons Why I Love to Read with My Kids

November 11, 2010
by

In the flurry of big fall book releases, holiday book presentations, traveling and conferences to discuss summer 2011 books (eek!) I haven’t had much time to participate in the nightly bedtime story routine with my two kids and I really miss it! Fortunately, my husband is a talented storyteller and a more-than-capable substitute. Seeing the pure excitement my daughter has for her nightly stories always makes me stop and appreciate what we do every day- get great books into the hands of kids. Plus, reading with your kids is totally unlike “adult” reading. The funny comments, the strange questions, the interactiveness- it all makes for the most hilarious and enlightening twenty minutes of my evening.

Here are five reasons I love reading with my kids.

  1. Seeing my one-year-old son go from just ingesting books and ripping pieces off of expensive novelty books to actually listening to board books more or less attentively! Sandra Boynton’s Belly Button Book is a new favorite and it is adorable to hear him chant along “bee bo” for “belly button”!
  2. The constant reminder that some nights’ stories are entertaining mostly for parents (The Boss Baby, Wishes for You, Bedtime for Mommy) while others fall into the category of mostly enthralling just for kids 5 and under (Princess and Fairy, all Disney Princess books, On the First Night of Chanukah which we read all.year.long!)
  3. Getting to experience our childhood favorites all over again through the kids- Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, Miss Rhumphius, Babar, Dr. Seuss, and many more. It’s wonderful to see every day just how timeless a great children’s book is!
  4. Hearing my daughter free-flow rhyme after she listens to Shel Silverstein’s classic Where the Sidewalk Ends. Those silly, genius poems are fun for all of us and seem to directly inspire poetry creation in my four-year-old like nothing else.
  5. Peeking into my daughter’s room during nap time and catching her “reading” to her dolls in bed. I know she can’t wait to really be able to read the words on the pages, but I just love hearing her own creative takes on the books!

Do you have children in your life you love to read with or to? Please feel free to post your sweetest, funniest or favorite reasons why you like to read together in the comments section below.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    November 11, 2010 10:19 am

    What a great post! And some books I will definitely be looking at! I also love reading to my girls. What’s even better is when I am done reading a story, Sofia will usually want to “read” the book to me and her sister. She goes through each page, and usually has part of it memorized and makes up the rest. Because we do a lot of interactive things, she also has her sister point to various things on the page or asks her what they are. It is SO cute!

  2. Deanna permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:45 pm

    Ruby loves to read to herself and her stuffed animals these days. I often find her flipping through the pages of a book and either making something up off the top of her head or paraphrasing the story. It’s great to be raising a reader!

  3. erin permalink
    November 11, 2010 1:37 pm

    keep them coming- I love reading these! I’d love to do a special post on the great reasons you all love reading with your kids with pictures so if you have great shots of your kids reading, feel free to e-mail them to randomactsofreading at gmail dot com.

  4. November 11, 2010 2:33 pm

    I love this post, especially how your daughter reads to her dolls. That is like a dream come true for any parent!

    To confess, I’d much rather read aloud for hours than pretend play with Polly Pockets for five minutes. I just can’t maintain that kind of enthusiasm for those dolls. But, reading . . . aaaah.

    Thanks,

    Melissa @imaginationsoup

  5. erin permalink
    November 11, 2010 3:45 pm

    Melissa, thanks so much for your comment- and I love your blog! Just discovered it and it is awesome!

    • November 11, 2010 4:17 pm

      Thanks, Erin. I tried to email you a cute photo but it keeps bouncing back. Is gmail down right now?

      • erin permalink
        November 16, 2010 11:30 pm

        it should be working- are you sure it was randomactsofreading at gmail dot com? I would love to include your picture!

      • November 17, 2010 12:46 am

        My kiddo is lying on daddy’s back reading over his shoulder – I still can’t get your email to work. Can you try me? melissa at imaginationsoup.net?

  6. Andrea permalink
    November 11, 2010 4:10 pm

    STILL reading with Sophia (at almost-12!). She is more than capable of selecting books and reading alone, but we still make time for read-alouds occasionally. The funny thing is, she will occasionally select a well-worn old picture book, or a new book from a favorite author for reading together. Those might be “The Going To Bed Book” by Boynton, or “Sophie’s Masterpiece” by Eileen Spinelli. Or newer titles like “Otis” by Loren Long. But her big kid selections are always interesting- titles by Levithan, Cooney, Amy Goldman Koss, Myracle, or diTerlizzi. My kid has a range of tastes and we pretty much let her run with it.

  7. Christina permalink
    November 12, 2010 3:22 am

    Always love reading your posts Erin, especially when you’ve got great new recommendations for the boys! The Boss Baby is on my list of holiday additions, especially with regard to Alex, lol 😉 He’s still all about turning the pages as quickly as he can, unless of course there is a lamp or a truck on the page – which requires a full 5 minute detailed exam, accompanied by exclamations of “light!” and “wow!” Lately since we’ve been reading board books to Alex, it’s been great to go back and revisit old favorites like “Goodnight Moon” and “I am a Bunny.” I’m really looking forward to when he will be as patient and engaged as Dylan (who likes to correct me for “messing up” the words.)

  8. Jennifer Daskal permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:35 am

    My daughter is Gabe’s age (13 months) so I think the best thing about reading to her lately is every night she is a bit more interested in the book. Goodnight gorilla is a favorite because instead of naming the animals that follow the zookeeper home she makes all the noises. Roar for the Lion and something odd and rhythmical that i think is the gorilla. Glad to hear Gabe likes the Belly Button Book. That is one of Flora’s favorites as well!

  9. November 14, 2010 1:11 pm

    Awwww sweet post

Trackbacks

  1. Kids with Books: Cuter than a Box of Kittens! « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

