Skip to content

The Pizza Delivery Blog Tour with A.S. King

November 9, 2010

Knock knock knock. Pizza delivery. I’ve got one thin crust mushroom, black olive and pineapple here for the fine crew of awesome people at Random Acts of Reading…

Okay, so this blog tour is getting pretty informal now. I am no longer wearing that stupid pizza delivery baseball cap. I am a bit distracted when you answer the door. Last month, my book Please Ignore Vera Dietz came out. I’m kinda mid-chaos. And if anyone understands this, it’s you sales reps. Seriously. How do you guys travel around so much? It’s exhausting! And THANK YOU for traveling around so much and doing what you do to sell awesome books to awesome stores. I owe you herds of goats. Skyscrapers. A dump truck of Wilbur chocolate. Sadly, all I have for you today is some cyber pizza, a bow of gratitude and some answers to your groovy questions…

RAOR: Do you know what Vera is doing now? Any chance she’ll show up in one of your future novels?

ASK: Vera is probably in community college right now trying to figure out what she wants to do. She may or may not still be delivering pizzas to pay for tuition. I think she’s happy. I don’t think she’ll show up in one of my future novels, but since I write for adults and young adults, maybe I’ll revisit her when she’s in her early thirties and see what she’s up to. Or maybe she’ll be working at the Snappy Mart when Kelly Haumer goes in to buy that pack of gum before school. (You’re like Who is Kelly Haumer? And I’m all One Day You Will Know Who Kelly Haumer is. We exchange a knowing wink.)

RAOR: Post an embarrassing picture of you with explanation.
[Amy Says: Mushrooms again? If I’d have known you all like mushrooms on your pizzas, I would NOT have made this the embarrassing picture topping for November.]

RAOR: 8th grade please…?

ASK: Well here I am in eighth grade. A total poseur. That is a white knit beret on my head and I still have a lot of those buttons from my cutoff jean jacket/vest. Elvis Costello, The Pretenders, David Bowie, Squeeze. I wore my hair over my eye like that because it was 1984. These things cannot be helped. At least I had good taste in music.

The picture was taken in Connecticut while I was visiting my best friend at the time, who had moved away. When I went to CT, I was extra poseur-ish because there was a small chance people there (who had never met me before) would actually believe I was cool, whereas people back home just thought I was a freak.

RAOR: What is your favorite kind of chewing gum?

ASK: I have stopped chewing gum. Weird, I know, because I really used to chew a lot of gum. But now I hate the stuff. But, my favorites would have been Hubba Bubba regular or grape flavor. And the standards: Juicyfruit, Big Red and Teaberry. LOVED the Teaberry.

RAOR: What is the best advice you can give to unpublished authors?

ASK: I think most advice depends on what stage the unpublished author is in their journey. But here are two things that cannot go wrong no matter where you are:

  • Be nice. Seriously. Be nice to everyone you meet in the business. Be nice to the books you read. If you hate them, try to remember your mother’s advice: if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.  Why not use your blog or your Goodreads or your time to spread the word about a GREAT book you read rather than talk about how much you hated a book you read and how the dumb-assed author could have improved it if only they saw things your way? See? See how silly that sounds? Be nice. People are watching. And I don’t mean authors. Agents. Editors. People who might be able to help you in the future.
  • Keep writing books. Just keep writing them. Don’t stop to query or to wait to find out if your agent will sell the one that’s being shopped. Don’t stop for anything. Just. Keep. Writing. Books.

AMY: Because you were so daring to ask for thin crust, this earns you a TRUTH OR DARE question.

  • TRUTH: Did you ever get so hungry delivering pizzas that you ate part of an order?
  • DARE: Dance like no one is watching to the song Party in the USA by Miley Cyrus.

ASK: I am lame here and will tell you the 100% TRUTH rather than dance to Miley. (I know this is a huge disappointment to you guys, but I will try to make up for it with something else.) I never once ate anything that was part of an order. Not even a pepperoni.

Now…considering I have never once in my life heard a Miley Cyrus song (until you said this, I didn’t even know she had songs. Spot the cave dweller.) I am embedding the video for this song right here and I will watch it and then that one part of my brain that is being used to hold something useful like the periodic table symbol for lead will be infected with Miley.

Update: I couldn’t embed the actual vid, but here’s the live version from the Teen Choice Awards where she dances on the pole. Totally classy. Now I know what everyone was talking about on Twitter from months ago. Oops. There go the symbols for Xenon and Helium too.

THANK YOU SO MUCH for being part of my Pizza Delivery Blog Tour. It’s been a fun two months and there’s only a few more stops before I stop this madness and go finish book #4 so I can get to Kelly Haumer (book #5) because I know you are dying to know who she is.

Next Stop: Heather Brewer November 11th!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 9:02 am

    I LOVE the photo – you look so introspective! Thanks for sharing!

    • November 9, 2010 11:29 am

      LOL. Introspective. Yes, if I was anything, I was that. 🙂 Thank you so much for following this blog tour! I keep hoping you’ll win a giveaway, but then my toddler never picks you out of the hat. 😦 One more chance on the tour to win…

  2. November 9, 2010 11:02 am

    You are so brave to share a photo of yourself from 8th grade. If I did so, you would see that I was really into blue eye shadow (LOTS of it) and it did not flatter me at all.

    • November 9, 2010 12:57 pm

      I’m sorry, Lenore, but now I want to see this. What would it take?

      • November 9, 2010 5:03 pm

        If I promised you a vlog for your blog…maybe in a future interview? Will you show me the 8th grade you for that?

  3. Deanna permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    I’m pretty sure we were the same person in 8th grade – same year and everything. Elvis rules.
    Love the photo!

  4. Tara permalink
    November 9, 2010 4:39 pm

    It’s interesting to me how no two people have the exact same perspective on life, events, people, anything really. I remember you as being cool back then partly because of your taste in music (I thought it was sophisticated for our age and I didn’t understand what a lot of those bands were singing about) but mostly because you stayed true to yourself. Not an easy thing to do when you are young and peers are quick to judge, make fun or exclude you for your differences. If anything, I think it fueled your fire. Kudos to you for hangin’ in there True Blue. 😉

    • November 9, 2010 5:02 pm

      HEY!!! It’s Tara, my best friend who I was talking about who I was visiting in that picture. (Hell, she probably *took* that picture.)
      I love you Tara! You are so freaking awesome.

      And coming to see you always gave me an opportunity to escape the freak-tag that followed me back home. So I thank you for the refuge. Hmm. Maybe I should come out and see you now. I’m feeling rather freakish these days.

      • Tara permalink
        November 10, 2010 8:58 am

        Hey Amy! I love you too!

        You and your family are always welcome to join our freak show. ha, ha! Come on down.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Pizza Delivery Blog Tour with A.S. King « Random Acts of Reading -- Topsy.com
  2. Congratulations to our ALA Winners! « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

