Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Sales Rep: Erin

September 24, 2010

We thought it might make for a fun new feature to show you a little glimpse into how we sales reps spend our days. I can’t call this a typical day, because one of the great things about this job is that no one day is like another, but here is a peek into a day (and a half) of my recent work trip to Denver. 

After a VERY early morning flight, I headed from the airport to the famous independent bookstore, Tattered Cover, where I met with Judy Bulow, the amazing children’s book buyer for their three Denver-area stores. 

Judy's bookshelves are overflowing!

 

Judy, hard at work.

  I always love to spend some time after my sales call in the children’s book section of the store, seeing what books are on display and, of course, doing a little shopping (market research)! 

The inviting children's nook in the Colfax Store.

My copy was getting a little "tattered."

I pack my days pretty tight with appointments, but I always make time for a healthy lunch to refuel. Here I am, trying out the local cuisine. 

Whole Foods stop for lunch/free wifi.

After lunch, I traveled across town to The Bookies, a great bookstore that caters to parents and teachers. We meet in the back room, where there are friendly employees, chocolate candies, and even treats for the store dog. 

Sue Lubeck, the owner, teaches a dog some new tricks.

Doing my part to stimulate the local economy (again)!

One of the great thematic displays at the store.

 Because I’m in Denver for a trade show that many of my accounts are attending, I am selling our spring books to some buyers at the show hotel. Sadly, this meant I didn’t get to visit beautiful Boulder to meet with children’s buyer Liesl from Boulder Bookstore. I love the gorgeous drive to Boulder and the amazing restaurants we get to try for lunch when I’m in town! 

Liesl and I took full advantage of the hotel lobby's wifi.

This was the tiny glimpse I got of the gorgeous weather- on my way to lunch.

Hope you enjoyed seeing how I spent my day here in Denver. I’ll be photo-documenting the Mountains and Plains tradeshow for a future post- lots of excited booksellers buzzing about great fall books- should be fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 7:56 pm

    Thanks for the glimpse!

Leave a Reply

