Skip to content

Daddy-Approved!

June 2, 2010
by

In honor of Father’s Day, we wanted to share some of our favorite dad-themed books that are great to read aloud to kids of any age. Two new books that would make great gifts for the dad in your life are Daddy Calls Me Doodlebug by J.D. Lester and Pink Me Up by Charise Mericle Harper.  Both capture the playful nature of the father/child bond with charming art and text.

 And what better way to get more recommendations for fun books for dads and kids to share than to go straight to the source, the fathers of our own kids! Here are some daddy-approved books from the men in our lives (and Tim M., our lone male co-worker!)

Tim:

Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb by Al Perkins- As a musician, this appeals to me. Plus, it’s got a great beat you can dance to!

Just Me and My Dad by Mercer Mayer- All of our kids have had (or are in the middle of) lengthy Little Critter phases. Way fewer words than the Berenstain Bears books!

 

 Mike:

We are also fans of Just Me and My Dad.  Our boys are all about Star Wars these days & I will happily read anything related to that galaxy far far away.  I am dying for the boys to get big enough to watch those movies, so reading is the next best thing right now.  In fact, the first words I said to my son Lucas when he was minutes old were, “Luke, I am your father.”  We love the DK LEGO Star Wars book that came out last year.

 

Jesse:

Two books that I loved to read to our daughter when she was first really starting to get into books and to “read” along with me were I Went Walking by Sue Williams and Jesse Bear, What Will You Wear? by Nancy White Carlstrom.  We never tired of them, even with endless repetitions.  Now that she is three, some of our favorites to read before bed are The Bunnies are Not In Their Beds by Marisabina Russo, Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss, and My Big Dog by Susan Stevens Crummel.  So far my 10-month-old son just shoves books into his mouth, but I am looking forward to exploring the world of train, truck and dinosaur books with him!

Tim M.:

Here are some favorites (though my 18-year old daughter who was immersed in Facebook when asked if she agreed said “whatever”…oh well, I have fond memories): Guess How Much I Love You by Sam Mcbratney; The Philharmonic Gets Dressed by Karla Kuskin; Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes; and Dr. Seuss’s books, especially Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now!

What are your favorite father-themed books? Or other books your kids loved to read with their dad? We’d love to hear your suggestions in the comment section below!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:48 pm

    Well, I ordered Daddy Calls me Doodlebug for my husband, a new daddy, with all intentions of wrapping it and giving it to him for Father’s Day. But, there it is, already on our shelf! I picked it because of the penguins skating illustration because I know he can’t wait to skate with Romy.
    he can’t wait to read her Bartholomew & the Oobleck, though, one of the most didactic Seuss books there is. Sorry, kid, the book is all about saying you’re sorry, but your Dad loves it.

  2. Jennifer daskal permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:45 pm

    I think I know someone who would also appreciate Jesse Bear, What will you wear? Great ideas!

  3. Paige permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:18 pm

    Thanks for the list. I’m doing a media-themed Father’s Day for Chris’s first one, and these books will be just perfect.

Leave a Reply

