Skip to content

We Ask a Book Blogger: Favorite Summer Reads

August 29, 2013

Each month, we present a panel of book bloggers with a question relating to children’s books and we share their views here on the blog.  If you missed last month’s post on books with strong themes of change, you can read it here.

This month, as summer winds down, kids go back to school, and the heat subsides (hopefully), I thought it would be fun to ask our blogger panel what books filled their lazy summer nights, their vacations or long weekends.  Below you’ll find many great book recommendations from some very avid readers, so get ready to add to your to-be-read pile!

I’m on vacation right now! And I’ve just finished reading the new Neil Gaiman book, The Ocean at The End of The Lane. Gorgeous writing, though I still prefer The Graveyard Book. Before that, I caught up on a classic I’d missed growing up, We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

When I return, I’ll go back to reading middle grade and young adult, but on vacation I always try to read adult books.

- Joanne, My Brain on Books @JoanneRFritz

Somehow it always seems like books read in the summer become instant favorites. I think that must have something to do with lazy days and the joy of a late night read with no concern for the alarm clock! Gary Schmidt’s Okay for Now had been near the top of my to-read pile for longer than I should admit. And what a read! It was that kind of book that you have to take breaks from every now and then because the story is so tough and raw and real. It was hopeful, sad, gut-wrenching, funny, and truly one of the best books I have ever devoured. I also revisited The Penderwicks, because it’s not really summer without those four girls!

- Carter, Design of the Picture Book @carterhiggins

I read a lot this summer, but some of my favorites include: Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan, which I expected to love but still outdid my expectations; The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black, officially the first vampire book I ever enjoyed and in fact I adored it; Run Like a Girl by Mina Samuels, a fantastic exploration of women and fitness; Beauty Queens by Libba Bray, a hilarious satire with surprising depth; Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella, another light and hilarious story from the master of chick lit; and The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, which lived up to all its hype and surprised me with its unpredictability. 

-Rachel, Rachel Ann Hanley

My summer pleasure read is Marisha Pessl’s “Night Film.” I’ve been a fan since “Special Topics in Calamity Physics,” so I was very eager to give her new one a try. I’m only a few chapters in, but it’s living up to all the good things I’d heard! I love the suspense, the scrapbook/ find-the-clues-yourself techniques, and the hauntedness of it already. Now if only I can find a few hours on the deck before Seattle’s sun goes away…

-Tegan Tigani, tsquaredblog.blogspot.com

I have two favorite books from this summer. I listened to Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta and it was exactly my kind of story! I also just finished Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas and cannot say enough good things about it. I loved Throne of Glass but this one just blew me away! 

- Heidi, YA Bibliophile @hmz1505

We’d love to hear what you read over the summer, or what you plan to read over this coming Labor Day weekend.  Have a safe and happy holiday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2013 9:52 am

    Loved Night Film! And Joanne, I always read adult books on vacation, too :)

    • August 29, 2013 1:34 pm

      Glad I’m not the only one, Erin!

      Rachel, I adored Beauty Queens, but haven’t read any of the other books you recommended. Carter, I totally agree about The Penderwicks! And Heidi, thanks for mentioning Finnikin of the Rock. I’d forgotten I wanted to read that.

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet and Shorts: Sassy Board Books {winners!} « Design of the Picture Book

Leave a Reply

