Skip to content

What Our Kids Are Reading

March 14, 2012

Today we share what our very own kids are reading these days!

9781419701511

I recently ran into the Abrams rep at Elliott Bay Book Company and he generously gave me some books to take home. When he forced me to take a board book for my big 5 year old twins, I was skeptical. But like the true salesman he is, he convinced me that HIPPOPPOSITES was not just any book of opposites! He was right. Ruby loves this book! She now can tell me the difference between positive and negative, opaque and transparent, caged and free and alone and together. It’s a rare board book that can appeal to parents and kids, but this one succeeds.

Levi is in fourth grade and his teacher reads them some great books: BOSTON JANE and THE GIVER to name a few. Recently she read them HOOT, which he loved, so I have him reading CHOMP.

And more from Levi:

WONDER: It’s a book that explains to you the life of someone who to all kids seems to be un-ordinary. It was one of my favorite books and I understood it.

- Deanna

9780316133821

We are currently reading TIN TIN. After discovering a tattered copy of THE BLUE LOTUS at our Library we have been hooked! We have since gone out bought & several others. Lucas even spent some of his birthday money-which I think says a lot for a kid who gets most of his books for free (mom in publishing). Mike & I have enjoyed these as much as the boys. I have to say they’ve kept me on my toes, switching out the whiskey for ‘juice’ and skipping over the many racial slurs & opium dens. Blistering Barnacles, what’s a mom to do!

- Dandy

9780375858611

My husband read the new Caldecott-winning picture book, A BALL FOR DAISY, to my kids last week. My five-year-old, Norah, seemed particularly skeptical about a wordless book. She sat through it, asked a few questions, and then requested a second story. We assumed she was maybe a bit old for it, but to our surprise, she came home the very next day from school with her own wordless book, inspired creatively by Rashka’s book. Entitled “Princess Picks (a) Puppy,” it was about five pages long, including an end page with her name. She told us the whole story that night, of a young princess who was searching far and wide for the perfect pet, ultimately choosing a puppy over a pig. The story took a turn on the last spread, with the princess suddenly meeting a prince and getting married, living happily ever after, of course! I would expect nothing different from my little romantic!

-Erin

norah page 1-001 

norah page 3

What are your kids reading? We’d love to hear what they’re enjoying!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sindy Cunningham permalink
    March 14, 2012 8:10 am

    I adored this book. I wish every student would read or have this book read to them. It has such an important point of view. I look forward to sharing WONDER with my students.

  2. Angela permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:41 am

    Always the most interesting to know are what the kids think. Thank you for continuing to get in touch with that perspective.

  3. March 14, 2012 10:51 am

    My son got hooked on Tintin when we lived in France. I think we have all the books.

  4. March 14, 2012 4:03 pm

    Very cool to hear what your kids are enjoying! The opposites book sounds really intriguing and I can’t wait to read Wonder!

    Right now my son and I just finished our second read aloud of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. (After we finished it the first time, he couldn’t wait to start it again. :o) ) Next we’re looking forward to Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator.

Trackbacks

  1. What Our Kids Are Reading « Random Acts of Reading
  2. What Our Kids Are Reading « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

