Skip to content

“The Wait Is Over!” New in Paperback in October

October 5, 2011

Today we’re inaugurating a new feature at Random Acts of Reading “The Wait is Over”. This will be a monthly feature highlighting books that are new in paperback.

As sales reps we often hear the phrase “I’ll wait for paperback” when we’re selling new hardcover books. Once I was working with a buyer who frequently said she’d wait for the paperback edition of a book, she even sometimes said “I’ll wait for paper” when I was selling the paperback list! To which I one day replied “Kim, the wait is over, this is the paperback!” We still laugh about it years later.

Here are the new paperback titles for October that you’ve been waiting for:

Picture Book

The Very Smart Pea and the Princess to Be  written and illustrated by Mini Grey

Finally in paperback! A lovely twist on the Classic Princess and the Pea story in which the Pea has the all the power. Our hero The Pea knows who the right bride for the nature loving gardening Prince should be, better than his Mum The Queen. Lots of fun for kids and grownups from the Boston Globe Horn Book winning author illustrator of TRACTION MAN IS HERE and THREE BY THE SEA.

 

 

Middle Grade

Nancy and Plum by Betty MacDonald

There were orphans in children’s books long before Harry Potter came along, and in this entertaining book from the author of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle we meet the spunky sisters Nancy and Plum who in spite of being stuck in an absolutely dreadful orphanage find a way to triumph. Illustrated byMary Grandpre and with an introduction by Penderwicks author Jeanne Birdsall this is the perfect book to share.

Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea

An instant favorite of many of us at Random House, this wonderful story of a new teacher is told through the eyes of a quirky cast of characters, his class of 5th grade students. He’s a teacher who makes the classroom fun and sees the uniqueness of each child, then the accident happens…..Because of Mr. Terupt will break your heart and put it back together again.

 

 

The Wonder of Charlie Anne By Kimberly Newton Fusco

The Great Depression has hit and Charlie Anne thinks that her summer will be the worst one ever when her Dad has to go north to find work and she’s left with her no fun cousin Mirabel. Then the new neighbors arrive,and she finds a new friend in Phoebe, an African American girl. Charlie Anne and Phoebe see each other as friends, others see only the racial differences. Together they have to show those others that friendship is stronger than hatred and open minds along the way.

 

The Rivalry: Mystery at the Army-Navy Game by John Feinstein

Sportswriter John Feinstein is back with his fifth mystery novel featuring aspiring young sportswriters Stevie Thomas and Susan Carol Anderson. This time around they are covering “America’s Game” the Army-Navy Football game and you just know they will stumble upon and eventually help to solve a mystery. Feinstein’s books are always great fun and give the reader an inside look at sports and sportswriting.

 

 Young Adult

The Beautiful Between by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Connelly Sternin and Jeremy Cole are unlikely friends. She’s shy and secretive and he’s the golden boy son of a rich New York City family, so when he sits down next to her at lunch one day she doesn’t know what to make of it. As their story unfolds we see that he too has a secret and they turn out to have more in common than anyone would have imagined. Over time both learn valuable lessons about friendship, trust and loss. The New York Post called The Beautiful Between “Endearing, realistic, and heart-wrenching.” Don’t miss it.

 

The Cardturner by Louis Sachar

Alton Richards just knows he’s going to have a lousy summer–he has to spend his time driving his great-uncle Lester, old, blind, sick, and rich, great-uncle Lester to his bridge club and be his “cardturner”. Did I mention that great-uncle Lester is rich? Oh yes, he’s very rich, and it looks like several parties are “after his money”. As Alton’s story unfolds he begins to get his uncle, and to get bridge and may be headed toward a little romance too. Think of this novel as “bridge and the meaning of life”, it’s a great lesson for us all.

 

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn

In their third novel together Levithan & Cohn (Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Naomi & Eli’s No Kiss List) once again make the magic happen. The perfect holiday read, this romance is ideal for readers 12 and up to YA. Set in New York City during the holidays two 16 year olds find out if love is really everything they’ve heard. And bonus! Their story starts and ends at a bookstore, how could this story not be charming and delightful?

The Less-Dead by April Lurie

Noah is a partier, rebelling against his father who hosts a popular Christian radio show. Noah believes his father’s program is spreading hate. Two local gay teens are murdered and Noah believes the perpetrator may be a caller on his dad’s program. The Less-Dead is a suspense-filled thriller in which Noah is forced to confront his own feelings and possible prejudices, while his own investigation into the murders becomes a dangerous game of cat and mouse.

A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley

Charlie is stuck spending the summer with her grandpa, in the country, what could be more boring? Oh, she’s also waiting tables at a local diner. Yawn. The only solace she finds is in her music–her iPod and her guitar. She wants so much more this summer: friends, a little romance, and to be noticed by her dad. A really satisfying read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Melina Marchetta.

  

  

Trash by Andy Mulligan

Three boys who have less than nothing, find something and they decide to keep it. Something so valuable that the police offer a handsome reward for it. The boys keep it anyway. Thus begins a heart-racing edge of your seat thriller in which three boys “must use all of their cunning and courage” to stay one step ahead of the people pursuing them and their mysterious and valuable find. Come along for the wild ride.

 

Vintage Veronica by Erica S. Perl

Veronica Walsh: vintage clothing addict and social outcast. Veronica has a great summer job, she spends her days sorting through the one-of-a-kind garments at a consigment shop. She’s happy on her own. Until she gets inadvertantly involved in a bit of intrigue at the shop and things get downright weird. Veronica will have to come out of hiding, take a risk or two and learn to trust her heart. Will the payoff be worth it?

 

 So now you know, the wait for these wonderful books in paperback (yay!) will be over in October. Make your list, it’s never too early to pick  up a few holiday gifts, and please share your thoughts with us in the comments sections. Happy Reading.

About these ads
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 8:10 am

    What great titles! I’ve heard because of Mr. Terupt is wonderful and who won’t love the cover of Vintage Veronica?

  2. October 5, 2011 10:56 am

    A lot of great stuff there! I am really interested in The Less-Dead, and The Wonder of Charlie Anne, but a lot of the other titles look really interesting as well. Time to go shopping, I think!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: