Skip to content

2011 Reading Resolutions!

January 4, 2011
by

Sarah N.'s Adorable Dog Maddie Enjoying Her Vacation

 

Welcome, 2011! I thoroughly enjoyed my vacation and am excited to be back here in blogland with all of you. Thanks so much for the warm response to our 12 Days of Books posts. We will be drawing the winner today and will post it with our Thursday post. Hopefully all of you had a chance to unwind with your families and friends over the holidays and to squeeze in some pleasure reading. I tackled Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom and, although I was prepared for it to not live up to the hype, I couldn’t put it down.

I want to kick this year off with some Reading Resolutions. It’s a new era in book publishing, but in many respects nothing has changed- there are still too many amazing books being published every month for any of us to keep up with. Here are a few things I am vowing to do this year!

1. I vow to venture outside of my reading comfort zone.

I love reading literary fiction, young adult novels, and mysteries but I’ve recently discovered the pleasure of a well-written biography, and I’d love to read more non fiction in general. Maybe this will be the year I broaden my reading horizons!

2. I vow to finish more books instead of setting them down partway through.

My e-reader that I have for work has made it all to easy to dip in and out of many books instead of sticking with one until it’s done. While I get a taste of many books, I’m missing the satisfaction of living fully in one book at a time.

3. I vow to visit more independent bookstores (for fun!)

Since I work with independent bookstores, I don’t often spend my weekends visiting them, just for fun. This year, I’d love to find more time to explore smaller or newer stores, either on vacation in different towns, or here in my own city. This ties into my 2011 Shop Local vow as well!

4. I vow to spend more time at my local library.

I use the online reservation system a lot already for my county library, but I rarely walk through the doors of my local branch. After spending some time on the county library’s website the other day, I was thrilled to see all of the fun, free activities going on at library branches- story times, book clubs, workshops, author events and much more! If we want libraries to still be around in the future, we need to support them NOW!

5. I vow to respect reading in all forms.

Due to the nature of my accounts, I have always viewed eBooks with a healthy dose of suspicion and even resentment. After all, an eBook sale takes away from a print book sale, right? Well, now that independent bookstores can sell Google eBooks, I no longer feel quite so conflicted. My heart will always be with print books, but I vow to appreciate the concept of readers finding books they love in any format.

6. I vow to READ MORE BOOKS!!

I’m inspired by Books on the Nightstand’s +11 in ’11 Reading Challenge and will be participating. I’m not sure how many books I read in 2010 (just counting the ones I read purely for myself and not in a work-context) but I would estimate I averaged 4 or 5 a month? If I replace a couple of hours of bad tv a week with reading time, I should be able to fit in one more book a month. First few on my list: The Heights, Super Sad True Love Story, Crush It! (for school) and The Distant Hours.

What Reading Resolutions will you be making this year? Please share in the comments so we can all be inspired!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 10:21 am

    The picture alone is adorable! Too cute! And yes – independent bookstores are wonderful to visit!

  2. Heather permalink
    January 4, 2011 11:01 am

    Great resolutions- and I love that pic!

    For my resolutions:
    1. Read genres besides YA fiction. I read almost exclusively YA fiction- and I have a good excuse, I’m a middle school teacher! But I need to diversify.
    Notice I am NOT going to say I will read less dystopian novels. I love them.

    2. Read more. I already read a lot, and my goal is always try to read every day, but that doesn’t always happen. Right now I average about 3-4 books a month, depending on size.

  3. Philippa Dickinson permalink
    January 4, 2011 11:52 am

    Love the photo! What an smart dog! Great resolutions. Happy New Year from the UK.

  4. January 4, 2011 12:23 pm

    I need to work on getting outside of my comfort zone too. Good luck!

  5. January 4, 2011 12:50 pm

    That is the best photo ever!

    My reading resolutions are on my site but basically, read more classics, read outside my comfort zone, read more ebooks (because I find that I can more likely to read things I wouldn’t normally read in paper form, I read in ebook. Probably because it’s not huge daunting blocks of text – like my next “big” ebook will be Infinite Jest).

    And YES, visit more indies! There are some charming indies here I’ve yet o visit.

  6. January 5, 2011 9:07 am

    I agree with the reading outside my comfort zone, that’s a good resolution. I always thought I was really open to any genre for any age, but the last few years have seen me settling into a groove of YA and MG. I need to step out of that, and maybe read some of the fantasy books a lot of the boy readers at my school are reading.

  7. erin permalink
    January 5, 2011 12:22 pm

    Thanks for the great comments! Sounds like we all need to branch out a little more to new genres! I should challenge myself to schedule posts on fantasy and graphic novels just so that I insure that I try something new.

  8. January 9, 2011 9:09 am

    Fun goals!

  9. Judy permalink
    January 16, 2011 11:28 am

    If you can, go to Joseph Beth Bookstore in Lexington Ky. It is one of the best of the best independent bookstores!
    If you want to read a great biography try Cleopatra; A Life by Stacy Schiff.
    As for ereaders, I think they have a place in our fast paced lives these days. I take mine with me to the bookstore and use it for reference to books I’ve ‘earmarked’ as possible purchases. I also use it for trips so I can take ‘a stack of books’ to read! But I still buy physical copies of books, especially first editions and childrens’ books, as well as books that have charts, pictures, etc in them because ereaders just aren’t up to my picky standards in reproducing those! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Reading Resolutions 2012 « Random Acts of Reading

Leave a Reply

